You’re Next! (GULP!)

I don’t know what to think of this…  I think the Grim Reaper tapped me on the shoulder recently.  I’ve been helping an attorney friend of mine for the past few months by producing his TV commercials in my spare time.  Spare time?  What’s that?  Actually, I’m writing, directing, and producing more than a dozen of his commercials.  How cool is that?

Anyway, a couple of weekends ago, we were with a film crew outside an old courthouse where we were filming part of the first commercial.  It was really hot outside (Sorry, Northern neighbors!), so the attorney had to go to his car and get a cold drink and touch up his makeup.

While we waited, the film crew and I were standing on the sidewalk when a hearse drove by.  The driver slowed down, rolled down his window, smiled, and pointed directly at me!  Everyone in the film crew laughed because they saw it, too.  He wasn’t pointing at us, he was pointing at me!  YIKES!  It was as if he was saying, “There’s room for one more.”

Time to talk:  So what do you suppose this means?  Is this some sort of bad omen?  Is this a harbinger of my own pending demise?  Have you ever had a brush with death?  Have you ever been singled out by the Grim Reaper?

“My” hearse didn’t actually have “Grim Reaper” on the side as obvious as this, but the meaning was there just the same.

 

The hearse that singled me out wasn’t as cool as this old one, but it was just as creepy.

 

41 thoughts on “You’re Next! (GULP!)

  1. That gives me chills Rachel. He must have known about you in some way and was making a bad joke about it.

  2. Ulp!
    I did have a friend once who got a job driving a hearse. He put in fake vampire teeth and grinned out the window at people as he drove past. Then he got fired.

  3. I agree with the others that he was probably trying to be funny. Or he wanted you to film him?

    It reminds me of the Twilight Zone episode “Room for one more, honey.” Creeeeepppyyy!

    • LOL! You’re the only person that caught that, Ali. 🙂 Thank you… They’ve been a lot of fun. They’re all set in 1963, so I got to purchase all the old vintage stuff to decorate the interior of the house. It’s been a lot of fun. I’ll post them as they go live. 🙂

  4. Pingback: This Week, I Channel Harper Lee… | Rachel Carrera, Novelist

Leave a Reply

