Why I Don’t Need to Watch the News

As you already know, my grandparents raised me.  When I was small and my birth mother came around, she used to say that I was reincarnated from a Hispanic person because I spoke Spanish before I spoke English (which was odd because we didn’t know any Hispanic people).  I asked for agua instead of water, and my favorite color was rojo.  I don’t necessarily believe in reincarnation, but if I did, I’d probably be more inclined to think that I died in either a submarine or a sinking ship or perhaps a car overturned in a full ditch, because for as long as I can remember, I’ve had a gripping fear of dying in something enclosed under water, and as the enclosure fills up, I drown.  (Now, that’s not to say that perhaps I wasn’t a Hispanic person who died in such a way.  LOL!  Or perhaps it’s actually a premonition of how I will die.)  The weird thing is I have no fear of water itself.  You could drop me from an airplane into the middle of the Atlantic and I’d be fine.  And I also don’t fear boats.  But I don’t like being in the enclosed cabin of a boat, and flying over water with the doors closed (as if there’s any other way) makes me tense.  Even driving over a bridge, I like to roll down my windows.

So that said, it has absolutely nothing to do with my post today, except that I eventually married a Hispanic man, Mr. Carrera.  When his family visited, they spoke Spanish and more often than not, I just had a “feeling” what they were talking about, and when that happened and I told my mother-in-law, I was generally spot-on.

The rest of my story is again one I’ve shared before when I only first started blogging, so if you remember it, please pardon the rerun.

Well, my ex-husband and I had a horrible union and we were apart more than together.  When we finally separated, we went our separate ways, and that was that.  For the purpose of the rest of this post, my ex-husband’s name is “Bob.”  (That’s not really his name, but I don’t want to infringe on his privacy by revealing his true identity.)

After we were separated, I moved back home with my Grandma.  Shortly thereafter, I had a dream that Bob was in a phone booth outside a McDonald’s with two other people, and he was shot by a stranger who drove by with a gun.  The dream was exceptionally vivid, and I knew the exact intersection where that McDonald’s was located in my town.  It wasn’t an area that I went to very often, but even so, I still saw things clearly.

I was home from work that day because my doctor kept me out for the week with a bad sinus infection, so I slept later than I usually did.  When I woke, I was frazzled and shaky from my dream, to say the least.  It was so real, I was certain that Bob was dead.

I sat up and tried to shake the dream from my head, but it wouldn’t go.  So, I picked up the phone by my bed and called Bob before my feet even hit the floor.

He answered, and I felt an immediate sense of relief.  I told him my dream, then he got angry that I was pulling a stupid joke on him while he was at work.  I told him I didn’t know what he was talking about.  My hands were still shaking from how real my dream was, and I was quite upset.

Bob didn’t hide his disdain and irritation, and he told me to turn on the news.  We yelled at each other, and I hung up on him and didn’t think much more about it.  I got dressed and went to the kitchen where Grandma was reading the newspaper and drinking her coffee.

She asked me what the yelling was about, and I told her.  She then handed me the newspaper.  Apparently, the night before, there were three African-American men, one who was named Bob, inside a phone booth outside of the exact McDonald’s in my dream, and there was a drive-by shooting, and the African-American Bob was shot and killed!

Let’s talk: Have you ever had a feeling so strong you just knew you had to listen to it?  Have you ever ignored your gut feeling and regretted it later?

30 thoughts on “Why I Don’t Need to Watch the News

  1. Fascinating – why a phone booth outside a McDonald’s? Also they couldn’t have been McDonald’s regulars as three wouldn’t fit in to said phone booth. This, of course makes your dream all the more remarkable young Rachel.

    • LOL! You knew I just saw a thing on Facebook that compares the ingredients in McDonalds French fries in England as compared to here… Yours had things such as potatoes, salt and oil. Ours had things such as dead animal flavoring, preservatives, color enhancers, some thing that was not an actual food and some other stuff I couldn’t pronounce. But back to topic, I think the men in my dream were on crack, so they were thin enough to fit. 🙂

      • That was some story of yours in all truth. Once on the South Circular Road which goes around South London I was pulling up at traffic lights had in my head had a thought that a woman would step out into the road and get run over – moments later the lights changed to green and an old woman pushing a trolley stepped out and a car ran her over. Odd that (TRUE)!

  2. wow..now that is crazy! no, I have never had dreams that were true or even close to any event on the news. Pretty neat:-) Well not for you or the other people!!!
    I hope I never do:-) I have that dream about water etc like you:-) I also have one where I am being chased, attacked etc..and I can’t get the numbers punched into 911(had for years when I was a child in 70’s so dial phone-lol) for I keep making mistakes and they are just about to “get me” and I wake up—-hate those! I also have those dreams where they are so real, I wake up and for a moment they DON”T go away and feel real!…HATE THAT!

    • I’ve had things like this often enough that they don’t scare me anymore. They used to give me goosebumps. Now, I just make sure to tell someone so that if anything like it really happens, I’ll have a “witness” that knows I didn’t just make it up. 🙂

  3. Wow – what an amazing story. I have had such experiences before as well, it’s eerie and beautiful and shows us how much we really don’t know about our potential. ❤
    Diana xo

  4. Wow. That’s kind of sad about the person who was killed, and it was rather unfair to think that you were playing a practical joke. (I don’t play practical jokes much, for some reason. I much prefer puns, and I never laugh if the person the joke is on isn’t laughing. I seem to have too much foresight to ever do anything that might turn out badly.)

Leave a Reply

