Guess Who’s Back!

Hello, friends,

I want you to know that I’ve missed you incredibly these past two months.  I apologize for leaving so suddenly and without warning, but my day job required so much of my attention, I barely had time to sleep, much less do anything fun for myself such as visit with all of you.

We were in between employees in a certain department, so in addition to my marketing and bookkeeping duties, I was cleaning up after the employee that left and doing the job of the employee that was going to start.  In fact, I was working so many hours, my funny boss surprised me one morning.

I was the first one at the office, and the office I was using was all the way in the back.  After I turned off the alarm, I kept the lights off because my hands were full, and I headed toward my office.  As I got near the door, it occurred to me that my door was closed, and I always leave it open.  I thought someone had broken in, and I considered calling the police, but not long enough to actually stop and make the call.  I don’t know why I thought I could handle an assailant with my arms full and barely awake, but I slowly pushed opened the door.  Because of my sleep deprivation, it never occurred to me that I’d just walked past the two chairs that normally sat on the other side of my desk.

As the door opened, I saw the corner of what looked to be a blanket, so naturally, I automatically assumed that a hobo had broken in the window and set up camp on my office!  And, yet, still I didn’t stop and call the police, or at least run back outside.

work cotSo I bravely pushed the door open the rest of the way, and when I saw what I saw, I let out a hearty guffaw, nice and loud, and all by myself.  I knew my boss was to blame.  Silly attorney!

Anyway, it was only a few more weeks before our new employee started, and things for me got back to normal (sort of).  So, friends, it’s great to be back, and I look forward to catching up with you!

Let’s chat: Do you ever have to do more than one job at your place of employment?  Is your employer a prankster?  If so, what’s the funniest prank he or she ever pulled?

35 thoughts on “Guess Who’s Back!

  1. Woot! Woot! 🙂 Glad to have you back. Even though I don’t get to every post, it’s just nice knowing you’re “there.” My boss sooooo does NOT have a sense of humor. Sounds like you have a good one! 🙂

  2. So glad you’re back, Rachel!
    That’s such a funny story. I hope work has settled down a bit now.
    When I was getting radiation treatments for breast cancer (I’m fine), I happened to be there one day when the technicians had set up a dummy behind a desk, so that one of the doctor’s would open the door and scream. I wasn’t there when it happened, but they showed me the set up afterward–so funny!

  3. Welcome back, dear Rachel! That is a good joke! I hope you never had to use the cot, seriously. And I wish the merry prankster could have used that fertile mind to come up with a way to spread out the work and free you of that heavy two-month load! Just saying, in your defense. 😉 ❤

Leave a Reply

