‘Tis the Season

I bet from my title, you can already guess the theme of today’s Throwback Thursday.  However, you might still be wondering how I plan on incorporating that into something currently happening in my life.

When I was a kid, the best Christmases were of course the ones where I got the best presents.  The year I turned two was a great Christmas.  Three days after my birthday, Santa came and left me a purple tricycle, a green desk that was a chalkboard on the top and a flip-open magnetic board inside, and my favorite Raggedy Ann doll that I carried everywhere until about three years later when my dog ate her head.

Three days after I turned eight was also terrific, because that year, I got two baby dolls instead of just one!  I wasn’t much of a Barbie girl, but I loved playing babies.  However, I never kept their names that came on the boxes.  I don’t know if you can read these dolls’ boxes or not, but the big one’s name was Fran, and the little one’s name was Agatha!  YIKES!  Those sounded more like grandmother dolls than baby dolls.  Their names were immediately changed to Heidi (from the book by the sane name), and – get this – Phronsie (from the book Five Little Peppers and How They Grew)!  Yes, really!  What was I thinking?

These days, the best Christmases are the ones where I can afford to get my kids tons of gifts, get my friends something nice, actually pull off all the surprises I have planned, and have the rest of the day to do something relaxing.

So why did I choose to talk about Christmas today?  Because today, I’m actually busy directing and producing six commercials that I wrote for my boss, and one of them is a Christmas ad.  That means that despite the 90° that feels like 113° (UGH!), last weekend, I spent both days actually shopping for Christmas items to use (Yes, Hobby Lobby actually has a lot of their Christmas stuff out already!) and putting up two Christmas trees.

We’re also filming a Thanksgiving commercial, so my sister Michelle has been doing tons of holiday baking this week.  And we’re filming Veterans’ Day and Memorial Day commercials, so I got to make a “Memory Wall” which I can’t wait to photograph and share with you.  And the two remaining commercials are not for holidays.

So, tell me, how are you spending your day?  What’s the earliest you’ve ever cooked a Thanksgiving meal or put up and decorated a Christmas tree?  What’s the earliest you’ve ever shopped for holiday decorations?

19 thoughts on “‘Tis the Season

  1. That’s amazing that you remember past Christmases and the gifts you got so vividly! Our daughters named all of the dolls, Barbies (they loved their Barbies), stuffed animals, and all sorts of other objects.

    I will be spending the day writing test items–with probably a break for the gym. Hope to get outside though–it’s beautiful here. I will not be thinking about Thanksgiving or Christmas for quite a while. 🙂

  2. The monsoons have squatted in the mountains, so I’ve been moving some essays through my process. I just got my “Garner’s Modern American Usage” yesterday. I added it to my list of daily grammar reads. I highly recommend this book. I don’t do the holidays–not since 1994–but I do get my dog a special treat for TG and Christmas. I tried making the big dinners, but it’s hard to do for one person.

  3. I would never be able to remember what I got on what Christmas. I guess the pictures help.

    The heat must be all that much more unbearable when you have to celebrate Christmas during the summer. I feel for you but it sounds like exciting work.

Leave a Reply

