If Forrest Gump Lived in Florida…

Does everyone remember when Forest Gump’s business partner and best good friend in the wide world, Benjamin Buford Blue a/k/a Bubba, named the different types of shrimp they could make in their shrimp business?

“Anyway, like I was sayin’, shrimp is the fruit of the sea. You can barbecue it, boil it, broil it, bake it, sauté it. Dey’s uh, shrimp-kabobs, shrimp creole, shrimp gumbo. Pan fried, deep fried, stir-fried. There’s pineapple shrimp, lemon shrimp, coconut shrimp, pepper shrimp, shrimp soup, shrimp stew, shrimp salad, shrimp and potatoes, shrimp burger, shrimp sandwich. That- that’s about it.”

Well, if they’d have been in Florida instead of Alabama, they might have had something besides shrimp to catch and cook…

 

Let’s chat:  Have you ever eaten alligator?  Would you ever consider eating alligator or another reptile?  What is the most creepy unusual thing you’ve ever eaten?

38 thoughts on “If Forrest Gump Lived in Florida…

  1. There used to be (and maybe still is) a restaurant that does exotic seafood and I remember eating a shark sandwich (delicious). Also, there was a store in Vegas the sold all kinds of exotic jerky and I want to say there was alligator there but can’t quite remember. Anyway, we went in for some and it was way expensive so ended up not getting it. The last time we were in Vegas we looked for the store again and couldn’t find it. It may have closed. Guess we weren’t the only one’s who thought it was too pricey.

    • Yeah, it’s not my favorite, either. I’ve actually only eaten it when someone gave it to me and told me it was chicken then laughed as I ate it… usually my birth mom did that. :/

  2. My kids and I lived in Florida for four years, but we never ate alligator. My father’s hobby was fishing, but he also gigged frogs. I liked fried frog legs. When I was a teenager, he brought home a snapping turtle. The heart beat for three hours after he butchered it. The turtle was huge (the size of our kitchen table), but there were only 5 lbs of meat on it. Kind of rubbery.

      • Shades of Poe, eh? 😉 It has partly to do with the heart’s ability to generate its own electrical impulses, and because cardiac muscle is different from the other kinds of muscles. Reptile bodies also function a bit differently from mammal bodies, and turtles, being aquatic and capable of staying submerged for long periods, are even more different. It was very interesting; in fact, I held the heart in my left hand for much of that time, examining how it moved. It seemed to be very small, for such large animal, but that’s probably normal for turtles. I was just a teenager who liked biology, and now I’m just a retired RN, not a herpetologist, but maybe these few details will be reassuring. I hope you don’t lose sleep over it – it really wasn’t scary at all.

      • LOL! I think that kind of scary is in the eye of the beholder! Yikes! Though I’m glad that for you it seems like it was quite clinical. You’re such a good teacher. I always learn something from you. 🙂

  3. I don’t remember the Forest Gump line, but I love your photos. 🙂
    I’ve never eaten alligator. I remember eating escargot (snails) when I was a child and in Paris with my family on vacation. I don’t eat meat now, but I do enjoy all sorts of cuisines that some people might find usual or exotic.

  4. I’ve never tried alligator, but now that I have a sensitive stomach, I probably never will. However a long time ago I was tricked into trying frog legs, which I can’t remember the taste and I’m kind of glad I don’t 🙂

  5. I don’t want to eat ‘gator, Rachel. I hear it tastes like chicken. Just give me the chicken, please and thank you. I guess some people would call the fresh kielbasa, potato-and-cheese pierogi with sauerkraut and baked beans that I like to cook weird, but I call it delicious. ❤

Leave a Reply

