Thanks to Shirley!

You all know how much I adore my our blogging brother, Mike Steeden, and his hilarious skits, not to mention his remarkable poetry.

Well, what you may not know is that his lovely wife, Shirley, is equally as amazing!  Shirley doesn’t blog with us, but I interact with her on Facebook regularly.  She’s got a terrific sense of humor (which she’d have to have to be married to Mike), and I really wish we could get her to join us out here in Bloggyville.  But I digress.

Anyway, last month, she posted this wonderful little gem on her Facebook wall, and I just knew I had to share it here with you.  Thank you, Shirley!

Let’s talk:  How many of these odd words did you ever think of prior to reading this poem?  Can you think of any more? 

24 thoughts on “Thanks to Shirley!

  1. moose and goose and mouse and mice – I have definitely thought of those and what about words like read (present) and read (past)? I guess you know if it’s past or present by the rest of the sentence. No. Wait. I read a book every night – could be both! and the plural of fish is fish, right? And then there’s lead, lead and led… oh my head hurts! ❤
    Diana xo

  2. This is a good one! Grammarly posts a lot of these gems. I’ve also seen on FB a paragraph of English words to read–it is filled with words like rough and through–I’ll have to see if I can find it. 🙂
    I was on the phone with a health insurance person a couple of months ago, and he accidentally pronounced Reading (as in the city) as “reeding.”

Leave a Reply

