Would You Rather…?

I was honored when my friend, PhantomWriter143, tagged me for the “Would You Rather” book tag tour!

She’s an amazing blogger and writer (and even a physical therapist!), and how cool is it that she started her blog just a couple of days after I started mine?  If you haven’t checked her out yet, go do so now.  You won’t be sorry.

At any rate, this fun little tag-a-thon asks us to answer a series of questions as writers/readers, then we pass on the love to five more bloggers.  Here are my answers, and my tagged victims are below:

  1. Would you rather only read trilogies or only read standalones?

Two of my favorite authors are V.C. Andrews and Beverly Lewis.  Both ladies almost always write in trilogy format (though sometimes they have four or five books in a series!).  So, yes, I prefer trilogies.  It allows the writer to give me more information, and it keeps me from feeling empty when the story ends sooner than I’d like.

  1. Would you rather only read male or female authors?

I don’t think I really have a preference.  As long as I enjoy the genre and the story, I don’t care who wrote it.

  1. Would you rather shop at Barnes and Noble or Amazon?

That’s tough.  Last year I got a Nook and have been trying to thin down my paper book collection and go digital.  However, I do still enjoy going into a physical book store and seeing all the different books “in person.”  Can I opt for a third answer and say I actually prefer used book stores?

  1. Would you rather books were made into TV shows or movies?

Hmm, I’ve got to go with movies.  Honestly, if I’ve read a book before it’s made into a movie, I probably won’t see the movie because it’s never as good.  But sometimes I see the movie, then it makes me want to buy the book.  Although I actually found one of my favorite authors (mentioned above), Beverly Lewis, because I saw a made-for-TV movie about one of her books.  How about this:  Ask me how much I despise when I find a movie I love, then I want to know more, and I discover that the movie did not come from a book!  I hate it when that happens!

  1. Would you rather read only 5 pages per day or 5 books per week?

Duh!  That one’s easy.  Five books per week, no contest.  If I only had the time to make that a reality…

  1. Would you rather be a professional author or reviewer?

Come on!  Do you really have to ask?  An author, hands down!  If you’ve followed my blog for long, you know that I don’t even need to quantify that answer with an explanation.

  1. Would you rather be a librarian or a bookseller?

I think I’d rather be a bookseller.  Better yet, can I own the bookstore?  That way, I could order all my favorite authors to sell, and YOU would probably be among them.

  1. Would you rather read only your favorite genre, or every other genre but your favorite?

Oh, I’d definitely rather read my favorite genre only.  I couldn’t give up my love of Amish fiction for anything.

  1. Would you rather only read ebooks or physical books?

That’s tough.  I want to prefer ebooks.  (As I mentioned above, I got a Nook last year because my physical books were swallowing me, and I wanted to thin the collection.)  That said, I do not like that my Nook is heavier than a paper book and I have to keep it charged in order to read.  If I was forced to choose, I guess I’d reluctantly go with ebooks just to give myself the kick I need to make it happen.

So that’s all there is.  I want to thank PhantomWriter143 again for asking me to play along.  I really love these blog tags, but too often, no one asks me to play in their reindeer games.  (Sigh.)  LOL!

Anyway, here are the bloggers I’m tagging:

Ali Isaac

C.S. Boyack

Rhonda Blackhurst 

Mark Bialczak

Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Thanks, guys.  I look forward to reading your answers!

~Rachel

15 thoughts on “Would You Rather…?

      • No the culprit is Shirley. Firstly we don’t know where half our books are since the move yet with her reading 3-4 books a week and me none lately she’s always nicking mine…plus she is an untidy reader and the few books I get back lock like a cats been chewing them…I’ve hidden my Hemingway collection!

  1. Pingback: Would you rather | Mark Bialczak

  2. Pingback: Tagathon | Would You Rather… | aliisaacstoryteller

Leave a Reply

