The Itsy Bitsy Spider Climbed Up the Water Spout…

BEFORE

Last weekend, the itsy bitsy spider climbed up the water spout… and then came my son and pulled the hose too hard and broke the water spout right off the side of the house, and water shot up into the air thirty feet high, and we had to cut the water to the house and follow the pipe into the garage and up into the ceiling, and replace tons of PVC pipe and fit couplings in all the places we cut it, and make sure it was sealed, and then wait six hours until we could turn the water back on, and it was nearly midnight before we could cook, brush our teeth, or use the bathroom again.

AFTER

Time to talk:  So how was your weekend?  Did you ever have to replace a PVC pipe?  What was the biggest home repair you ever attempted without calling a professional?

22 thoughts on “The Itsy Bitsy Spider Climbed Up the Water Spout…

  1. Oh, Jeremy. Too much strength, dude!

    That’s a big repair job, Rachel. Bravo. Good for you guys. I’m very impressed at the replacing and patching and matching and it working! I dislike plumbing, a lot. The reverse PVC threading and tiny little tape flummox me. You rock. 😉

    • LOL! I used to have a pump on a swimming pool that often leaked, and I had to repair it quite frequently. After the first time paying a guy way too much, I watched how he did it and learned how to do it myself for next to nothing. But I do despise it, too. 🙂

  2. Do you realize young Rachel that for the rest of the day and probably through the night and into tomorrow I shall have Carly Simon sing that song of hers re the spider buzzing around in my head…that I shall not sleep a wink I shall blame on you and Jeremy! Good true story of gloom by the way!

  3. Wow, that’s pretty crazy! Does not sound like fun but it’s a good thing you were able to repair it yourself. My husband can be pretty handy at fixing drawers but it just about ends there. Sometimes I am grateful we are no longer home owners!

      • I may goodness! Can’t believe that! We used to own and every time I hear about homeowners making costly repairs I think “Thank goodness no more”. Definitely what was going through my mind when I read this story…until now! You should deduct it from the rent!

  4. I know absolutely nothing about plumbing, but I lost hot water 4 days last week. And not all in a row. *Whimper* It took the landlord forever to just figure out they needed to replace the darn water heater! A whole week without a hot shower. Cold showers and sponge bathing. Now I know how people 100 years ago felt.

  5. NOT the kind of excitement you want for the weekend–but good for you for being able to get that work done! I’m not very handy or knowledgeable about fixing things around the house, but fortunately my husband is. This is an old house, so there are constant repairs to be made.

    • Thank you! Yeah, it’s a lot nice if you have to make repairs, to make them for a house you own. In this rental house, I don’t like spending my money or time to make repairs for someone else’s house. :/

Leave a Reply

