The Monthly Report

It’s hard to believe that yet another month has passed slipped away from me and I’ve barely scratched the surface of my 2015 Goals List!  The funny thing was when I made that list, I had no idea what the future was going to bring.

For example, I still have yet to even begin my running program because I’m STILL coughing so much that I’m constantly sore all over.  In fact, I’ve been coughing so frequently that I choke and barf at least once a day.  But the vomiting isn’t nearly as bad as the chronic cough.  However, I believe I’ve narrowed my problem down to being yet another food allergy, so this month I’ll be doing a modified fast for a period of time and then reintroducing whole foods in their purest form, one at a time, to locate the culprit(s).   (I would appreciate your prayers and good vibes on this one, friends.)  If all goes well, I’ll be hitting the pavement running before we know it.

As for my writing and editing goals, those have also tanked.  Actually, I’ve been slowly very slowly making my way through the editing process.  I sent a couple of manuscripts that were almost there to a couple of different friends (Thanks, Craig and Marissa!) and received some very helpful feedback which has also helped me in editing my other work.  I do feel confident that I’m moving forward, though at a much slower pace than I’d originally intended.  And I hope to soon finish my first draft of my current WIP.

For some exciting news, do you remember recently when I told you how the Grim Reaper singled me out when I was out with a film crew for a television commercial I was producing for an attorney friend?  Well, the Florida Bar approved that commercial, and it should be on the air soon.  I have thirteen more lined up to follow.  As a matter of fact, I’ve been working with said attorney in designing his new office’s logo, letterhead, business cards, website, billboards, etc., and I’ve actually started working in his office as a case manager, bookkeeper, and Director of Marketing.  I never thought I’d work in law again, but I have to say that even though it cuts into my personal and writing time (a LOT!), it’s rather enjoyable to be back in the saddle.

I can also say that this year, I learned a little more about forgiveness.  I got the call in early January that my birth mom only has a limited time left.  I hadn’t spoken to her in over a year prior to that because our relationship was toxic.  She’s never been one to make me feel good when I was around her, and I constantly had anxiety when I’d even see her number on my caller ID.  But when she called this time, I called her back.  I prayed about it and decided that I needed to give her another chance to make things right.  I’ve been helping her out with things she can’t do for herself and spending the most time I ever have in my life with her.  And I have to admit, she hasn’t been as domineering as she has in the past.  Of course, I did lay the groundwork by letting her know that I have no problem disengaging if it becomes necessary, and that I will not allow guilt to make me stay if she starts making me feel bad again.

So besides this stupid, chronic cough, you can see that there were other unexpected things that have crept up and kept me from my ultimate goals for the year.  That said, I refuse to be deterred.  Just because I haven’t gotten a good start on things yet does not mean I won’t get to them before the year’s over.  I’m hopefully optimistic that this elimination diet will identify the food culprit and that I’ll quickly feel much better.

Time to talk:  So far, has your year gone according to your plans?  Have you ever had anything unexpected keep you from your goals?  If so, how did you handle it?  Have you ever been in a toxic relationship?

30 thoughts on “The Monthly Report

  1. Sometimes the personal stuff takes over and has to be dealt with as a priority. I’d say that definitely is progress. The writing will happen when the time is right. You do need to get that cough checked out though…

    Oh and congrats on the new job! 😀

  2. My only toxic relationship is with myself. I can be a real slave driver sometimes. Better have that cough checked out. A friend let his go on for years. They removed a benign tumor the size of a computer mouse from his left lung this winter.

  3. Wow. *HUGS* to you Rachel. I hope you feel physically better soon. You have a lot going on, so cut yourself a break on not reaching your goals as quickly as you would have liked. ❤
    Diana xo

  4. So much has happened this year for you. Definitely focus on getting better and I’m wishing that by the next report, you’ll be better. Sorry to hear about your mom, but I’m glad that this month things went well for you and her.

  5. Wow, I hope you do get your cough better soon. I am very happy with how my year has gone so far, thank you! 😀 I am sure you will achieve your goals, and as you say, you are accumulating and achieving new goals all the time that you didn’t know you would have!
    Good luck with your manuscript! Congratulations on your commercial! how exciting 🙂

  6. Well, there’s is certainly a lot in here! First of all, you’re welcome of course, happy to help and can’t wait to read more from you. There’s been a lot of persistent coughing over here on the West Coast and apparently it’s been the worst season for allergies in a long time. Not sure if that would carry over to the East Coast or if this could even be the cause, just thought I’d put it out there.

    • I thought it was allergies, too, but I went to the doctor after I posted this – and it’s acute bronchitis. UGH! And with my new schedule, editing time has been weekends only, but I think I’ll be ready to send you something else to read very soon if you’re still game. 🙂 And thank you again! ❤

  7. Whenever you say you’re not getting stuff done, it always seems like you’re doing a lot. 🙂 Your cough sounds terrible though. I hope you’ve had it checked out, and I hope you feel better soon. Congratulations on the commercial and the related work! Awesome!

    I don’t have goals for the year. 🙂

  8. Each day is a new beginning, each moment a new opportunity. You’ll get there with your goals. And in the meantime I’ll be praying for your recovery from that darned cough! 🙂

    • Aww, thank you so much! I did go to the doctor after I posted this, and he said it’s acute bronchitis. I have 20 days’ worth of medicine, so hopefully that’s all I need. Thank you! ❤

  9. Pingback: A Little Bit of Progress (No Matter How Depressing it Might Be) | Rachel Carrera, Novelist

Leave a Reply

