Remember when I wasn’t Martha Stewart?

For today’s Throwback Thursday, I’ll be giving you a follow-up to my post last year when I told you how I was no Martha Stewart and I shared some photos with you of previous years’ Thanksgiving name cards that I made for my guests.  I couldn’t share the ones I made in 2014 because my guests hadn’t seen them yet.

I was actually just going through my point and shoot camera the other day, and realized I still had the photos on there to show you later.  (Being as I typically use my studio camera, I tend to forget that I even have a point and shoot sometimes.)

Anyway, this is the little turkey that saved my seat at Thanksgiving.  This was the first time I ever used a pre-fab kit to make the place cards rather than making them from scratch, but I found myself running out of time as the big day approached.

Immediately following Thanksgiving dinner, Jeremy’s turkey fell to the ground, and our cat Dakota got hold of it.  By the time we rescued it, it looked almost as bad as a real Thanksgiving turkey after it had already been carved and picked down to the bones!

Let’s chat:  How early do you start planning for your holiday meals and guests?  Other than Thanksgiving and Christmas, what other large meals do you plan in advance?  Do you photograph funny things that your pets do to things around your house?  (That last question applies to everyone except my good buddy Mark Bialczak… I already know that he makes a very cool photographic anthology of his sweet dog Ellie B’s collections of things she shouldn’t have.)

25 thoughts on “Remember when I wasn’t Martha Stewart?

  1. i love this, rachel. and i really don’t do much planning ahead, just kind of wing it. as for the pet shots, i love to find things that nacho the cat not the food has done and post them )

  2. We generally do a summer party every year that I plan a few weeks in advance. Gotta say I love the photo of the turkey after Dakota got to it. It was pristine and perfect before, but somehow I like the other one better. It definitely speaks of a cat, LOL!

  3. Right now I’m working on Passover. I do plan large family dinners in advance, and for Rosh Hashanah and Thanksgiving, I usually do some cooking/baking in advance and freeze it. I write down the menu, make lists of ingredients, schedule of cooking, and then the worst thing–the cleaning (my husband helps with that). I’ve been testing out Passover desserts for the past couple weeks. It’s a tough job, but someone has to do it.

    I’m not too creative with the place settings because I can’t set the table until right before dinner, or out cats will get them. Like yours did. 🙂

    This morning, I tried to get a photo of the cats chasing each and knocking down all sorts of things in their path, but it didn’t work. Haha.

    • Yes, you always have the best menus! 😀 And Happy Passover next weekend. 🙂 Yes, I definitely know what you mean about the cats getting to the place settings. I wait until the last minute and lock the cats in another room during the meal.

      • One cat will definitely hide while everyone is here. The other one will probably be around, but he probably won’t be in crazy mode then. And if the kids are chasing him around, he’ll go and hide, too. 🙂

      • Yes, I have one cat that will NOT allow herself to be locked in a room with the others, but she stays well hidden when company is here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

