The Jolly Old Elf

This time last year, I’d been blogging for just over a month, and I didn’t have nearly the number of followers that I have now, thank you very much.  So if you saw this last year, please forgive me for repeating myself.  But as far as my old stories from years gone by, I’m just about out of new ones to share.

This one is especially funny because it’s so stupid. I wrote this when I was in the first grade, so I would have been six at the time. I remember I was preoccupied with learning to write in cursive, even though we had not yet learned it in school. Hence, you can see that I managed to at least sign my name in cursive. (How funny that I was so obsessed, and now they don’t even teach cursive in school anymore.)

The thing that’s especially humorous (and embarrassing) to me about this poem is that I swear my first grade teacher told us a story (or read us a book) about “Carl’s Leprechaun.” It must have made a big impact on me to go home and write about it. Yet, when I found this recently, I Googled it and can find no such story!

The other comical element, besides my bad spelling, is that I had to write in the margin that it was indeed a poem. Obviously my reasoning was so that no one could confuse it for a novel or other fictitious prose narrative.

In case you can’t decipher my masterpiece, it reads as follows:

The Jolly Old Elf
There was an elf.
Hee hee hee.
I can’t believe what I see.
I said, “Hi there.”
He said, “Zee zee zee.”
Now it’s the end because
He was Carl’s Leprechaun.

(By the way, no one was able to answer my plea for help last year, so I’ll ask again… If YOU know who or what Carl’s Leprechaun is, would you please tell me?)

Happy St. Patrick’s Day, Friends!

Let’s chat:  Have you ever heard of Carl or his leprechaun?  Have you ever pinched someone because they didn’t wear green on St. Patrick’s Day?  What is your favorite book or even movie about a leprechaun?  Are YOU wearing green today?

24 thoughts on “The Jolly Old Elf

  1. Cute! Never heard of Carl…pinched and been pinched for not wearing green, although sometimes it’s not appropriate to show people that you actually DO have green on. LOL!

  2. Interested to know if Mike got it right. I’m partial to Darby O’Gill and the Little People, but since the VCR broke, I can’t watch it any longer. It’s worth the price of admission just to watch Sean Connery sing.

  3. So sorry Rachel, I’ve never heard of Carl either, BUT, I’m wearin’ green, never pinched or been pinched (have 4 brothers for protection there), don’t have a favorite leprechaun book or movie, and that seems to be the last of the questions. Happy St. Paddy’s Day Rachel.

  4. I don’t do anything for St. Patrick’s Day, and I don’t have a favorite leprechaun. I can’t even think of any at all. Hope you find Carl!
    As always, I’m still amazed you have your work from first grade!

  5. I entirely missed out on Saint Patrick’s Day. But no one pinched me, because my workplace has a dress code. HAH!
    And now, a few days later, I’m dancing to Irish music… it serves me right, because I am Irish and I forgot about it.

Leave a Reply

