Happy Birthday Theodore Geisel & Desi Arnaz!

Today marks the birthday of two wonderful authors who I absolutely adore.  The first is Theodore Geisel.  Theodore Geisel, born on March 2, 1904, was better known to his fans as Dr. Seuss.  He published forty-six children’s books under this pen name.

It is a little known fact that we have apparently been pronouncing his name wrong all these years!  As a matter of fact, Seuss rhymes with voice not goose… because he didn’t want to be confused with Mother Goose.  One of his friends even wrote a poem to help people remember:

You’re wrong as the deuce
And you shouldn’t rejoice
If you’re calling him Seuss.
He pronounces it Soice.

Mr. Geisel was unusual for a writer in that he preferred to be paid after his work was complete rather than in advance.  Furthermore, he was a perfectionist and often took as long as a year to complete a single book, frequently discarding up to ninety-five percent of it as he went along.

Mr. Geisel died of oral cancer on September 24, 1991, at his home in La Jolla, California, at the age of 87.

Happy Birthday, Dr. Seuss!

*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Another author’s birthday we celebrate today is that of Desi Arnaz.  Yes, I’m talking about the actor, musician, and producer who was married to Lucille Ball.  Oh, you didn’t know he was an author?  Yes, he penned his autobiography, simply entitled A Book, which was published in 1976.  It was an immediate success.

In 1974, when he agreed to write his memoirs, his family and friends were shocked, as he never even enjoyed writing a letter.  When the outline for A Book was planned, Desi found that he had enough material to fill two books.  The first went through 1960, when he and Lucille Ball divorced.  However when it became time for the second book to be written, which was to be entitled Another Book, Desi decided that he enjoyed living life more than writing about it.

Mr. Arnaz was born on March 2, 1917 in Cuba, and died of lung cancer at the age of 69, on December 2, 1986, in Del Mar, California.

Happy Birthday, Mr. Arnaz!

Time to talk:  What is your favorite Dr. Seuss book?  What is your favorite Desi Arnaz role?  Do you have a favorite I Love Lucy episode?

21 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Theodore Geisel & Desi Arnaz!

  1. All these years I’ve pronounced Dr. Seuss incorrectly and am just now learning it. I have several favorites, but if it comes right down to the mat, it would have to be “Green Eggs And Ham” because on special occasions I would make that for my grandchildren, making them green by adding spinach, and read the story to them while they ate them up. It was the only way I could get them to eat a green vegetable, and spinach is my favorite.
    My favorite I Love Lucy is difficult because there are so many to choose from. Getting drunk on the product while filming a commercial, stomping the grapes, wrapping chocolates at the factory, doing dishes to pay for her dinner—-you can’t pick just one.

    • I agree… I can’t pick a favorite Lucy either because I love them all so much. I think with Dr. Seuss, I would pick “Oh, the places You’ll Go,” though ‘The Cat in the Hat Comes Back” was always once I loved because it was the first Dr. S. book I ever had. 🙂

  2. Loved Dr. Seuss, but not sure I can ever break myself of the habit of pronouncing it incorrectly. My favorite tales are The Cat in the Hat and The Lorax. Everything he penned was delightful. And I didn’t realize Desi Arnaz was an author among his many talents. I so enjoyed him on I Love Lucy.

  3. Soice??? Wow, never knew that. I think I will probably never pick that up, the pronunciation that is! I wonder why he would choose a pen name that everyone would mispronounce. I think right now my favorite is ‘Oh The Place You’ll Go’, although that could change on a daily basis.

  4. I love the grinch the best. Had no idea about desi and I loved him in the I love Lucy show. My fav episode was the one in the chocolate factory )

  5. Dr. Soice, huh? As a former elementary school teacher, I can’t imagine the number of children who wouldn’t have been able to pronounce that! 😀
    My fave was definitely The Lorax.
    Don’t have a favorite Desi role, but my favorite Lucy episode was Vitameatvegimite. Loved that one!

      • I don’t think I’ve seen that movie. It’s been a long time since I’ve watch anything from Desi and Lucy. I will add this title to my list of movies to watch. Thanks Rachel!

  6. Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss and Desi Arnez. The Cat in the Hat and Ricky Ricardo. Goodness gracious, Rachel, this is an unbeatable combo. Your red hair … ….. ….. Lucy! You’ve got some splainin’ to do! I had to say it just this once. 😉

  7. I don’t think people will start pronouncing Seuss as “Soice.” I’ve never heard that, so thanks for enlightening me. 🙂 It’s odd that he would choose a pen name that would be so easily mispronounced. I don’t know which book of his would be my favorite. I guess maybe “Green Eggs and Ham?” No, idea about Desi Arnez. I can only think of him in “I Love Lucy,” but I don’t have a particular favorite episode.

    • I know, what a weird pen name! And then to learn he apparently got agitated when people said it wrong. How funny. 🙂 Green Eggs and Ham is definitely a fun choice. I can’t choose a favorite Lucy episode either, because I love them all so much. 🙂

Leave a Reply

