I Got My First Valentine Day Card

For today’s Throwback Thursday, I will share yet another story of when I was a dork.  I was six years old and in the first grade when I wrote this little gem.  I have no idea why I assumed the male point of view, but perhaps it demonstrates how versatile my writing can be.  😉  Nor do I have any idea why I considered this a poem.  LOL!

In case you can’t read my writing, here’s the translation:

I Got My First Valentine Card February 14 (poem)

I got my first Valentine card from my girlfriend.  I made one for her.  Then we got married, then we had two babies, a girl and a boy, and you know what then, that was the end.  The End

Let’s talk:  Have you bought or made your sweetheart a Valentine yet?  Do you prefer store bought or homemade cards?  What was the best Valentine you ever received?

38 thoughts on “I Got My First Valentine Day Card

  1. Oh, that is kind of sweet. I have only ever recieved one Valentines card in my life. It did not use to be very common in Norway. Now they are everywhere, but I really don’t see the point in them as this is not something we have a tradition for.

      • As a child everything that gets you out of school and gives you candy is fun! And I would imagine making the cards, giving them away and recieving your own would be very nice too.

  2. Rachel Ann, you little cutie-patootie. Would you still like me if I told you I cringe at ooey-gooey hearts and flowers? Not a big fan of Valentine’s Day although my husband is a bit more tender-hearted so I do try to find him a funny card each year.

      • Waste of trees buying cards I reckon. I shall give her a kiss and hope I didn’t scoff anything garlic ridden last night! Looks like we’re moving Friday 27th Feb now – boy is it dragging on; all boring stories so I won’t bore you with them. Difficult to plan until a firm date is fixed – doing my head and any last vestiges of creativity I might have in! Not fair on Shirley and George either (especially G as he has a business plan he can’t implement until I’ve got him a soundproofed room in the new place. I’m off to headbutt a wall for a while now.

  3. Happy Valentine’s Day Rachel! Perhaps you wrote from the male perspective because that is the gender that is stereotypical for having an aversion to marriage; they feel when they finally take the plunge it will be the end, the end of life as they know it. 🙂

  4. I’m a bad procrastinator so I usually intend to make Valentine’s cards–but don’t. BUT…this year I did manage to make cards. 🙂 for my Hubby and parents/sister. Homemade cards are so much more meaningful than store bought ones in my opinion. 🙂

  5. i did actually make a card for my husband a couple of years ago. Now I really just buy gifts. I think store bought cards are a waste of money unless it’s to someone you don’t know too well, like a kid’s birthday or something like that. Yours definitely takes the cake.

  6. I think the gender issue didn’t matter at that age, Rachel, that’s what I think. You may have written this for your best friend. Kids were still pure of heart and soul this way back in our day.

    I buy a store bought card for my dear wife Karen, and I read them until I find one that says what I think and pleases me graphically, too. I could write my own, but I could never come up with one that looks as nice as the six, seven, ever-higher buck Hallmark card.

  7. Sweet card, Rachel. I didn’t notice that you took a male point of view, you simply said your girlfriend. (I have a daughter who has a wife.) I assume she was your best friend at the time, and being six-years-old, you assumed it would be nice to be live with her. I love the end part. 🙂

    I have had store bought and home made Valentine’s, and I’ve made and purchased them, too. My husband and I don’t usually do much for Valentine’s Day because of all the February birthdays, but this year we’re going to a wine and chocolate event at a local winery!

    • I think it was the male perspective only because when I was a kid, I never said my girlfriends were “girlfriends” only “friends”. LOL! But I know what you mean. (I have a sister who had a wife for a couple of years.) A wine and chocolate event sounds like a perfect way to spend the day! I hope you blog about it afterward. 🙂

  8. Best Valentines … 17 years ago today, my husband asked me to marry him. I honestly believe it was a spur of the moment thing because he was shipping out to Kuwait a few days later, but it worked! We’ll celebrate 15 years in a few months.

Leave a Reply

