Walking Through February

For today’s Throwback Thursday, I submit for your approval, a piece of mixed media art created by me when I was five years old and in kindergarten.  As you can see here, several milestones in February are represented.  In the corners, we have crayon-colored hearts for Valentine’s Day on the fourteenth.  On the left, we have a hand drawn light bulb for Thomas Edison’s birthday on the eleventh.  In the top center, we have a cut-out twig from a cherry tree, a flag sticker, and a cut-out picture of George Washington’s head for his birthday, also on the eleventh (though 116 years before Thomas Edison’s).  There is also apparently some debate as to whether it is really on the eleventh or the twenty-second.  And at the bottom, we have a log cabin made of corrugated paper, some boot prints made with marker, and some pencil rubbings of Abraham Lincoln’s head on a penny to represent his birthday on the twelfth.

As you can see, back then in school, we used that incredibly thin manila paper that really wasn’t suitable for drawing or coloring projects that we may have wanted to keep, and my project didn’t fare well being stored in my grandma’s hot attic for decades.  Now, it’s brittle and torn.

So there you have it:  an ancient piece of art by yours, truly.

Let’s talk:  Do you have any of your own art made in kindergarten?  Did your kindergarten teacher teach you about what special dates came each month and then have you do an art project to commemorate them?  Do you feel that you were taught more in kindergarten than kids in kindergarten are taught these days?

40 thoughts on “Walking Through February

  1. My only memory of kindergarten is the pink fluffy rug that I got to put on the floor at nap-time. Do they still do napping in kindergarten? This is a precious little piece of artwork, Rachel. Good Girl!!!

  2. i love this rachel. i’m a huge fan of multi-media/collage art and still create it. i have some of kindy art, and i treasure it. i’m a kindy teacher now and teach my classes about every holiday/tradition/celebration and culture imaginable. )

  3. Nicely done!! I can only recall a plastic plate I made in grade school. Don’t really remember the logistics, but we created the art and somehow it was made into a plate. This was for Mother’s Day. My design came out rather well and my mother still has it to this day.

  4. I love this! I definitely have stuff from kindergarten and beyond, but it’s stored at my parents’ house. I don’t remember my teachers telling me about important dates, but that could be my faulty memory.

  5. I don’t have anything from Kindergarten, and I don’t remember what we were taught. I love your kindergarten art work though!

    My daughters (and husband) have February birthdays, so the girls often had Valentine/birthday parties.

    You probably know this, but eighteenth-century dates were sometimes disputed because of the switch from the Julian to the Gregorian calendar in 1752. (Some countries had already switched, but UK and colonies switched then.) I think it was 11 days that were dropped when the calendar switched.

    • Oh, that’s interesting about the calendar… That explains the confusion. Oh, I feel for you in February! You must have to plan your budget months in advance. Both my kids and my ex were all in October, and between them plus two Halloween costumes, I was always broke! LOL!

      • Well, when the girls were little, I often got away with one party, and my husband and I usually don’t do anything for Valentine’s Day since it’s so close to his birthday. I used to bake a lot of cakes though because everyone got their own cake plus usually one for the party. This year there will probably just be one cake for my husband and one for my mother-in-law (also her birthday this month). 🙂

  6. I think it’s awesome that you have some artwork from when you were a child! Unfortunately, I do not have any art or work that I know of from Kindergarten but I remember creating history drawings and shoebox models from Elementary school. Thanks for sharing Rachel 🙂

Leave a Reply

