Flies

They say, “Time flies when you’re having fun,” but it also seems to slip right away from me when I’m busy with things I’d rather not be doing.  I can’t believe 2014 is almost over!  It feels like I blinked toward the beginning of February, and now, here we are at the end of December.  I’ve been feeling a little disappointed that I didn’t get as much done this year as I did in 2013.

Last year was much more productive for me.  In the summer of 2013, I started a running program.  I hadn’t run for years prior to that because my shin splints were so painful, and every form of relief I had tried for them failed miserably.  But in 2013, I found a new exercise for shin splints that literally cured them almost immediately.

By autumn 2013, I ran in a 5K — my first time running that far since I was in middle school!  I also lost 35 pounds during those few months.

Also in the summer of 2013, I dreamed my story, The Prison, and decided to pursue book writing.  I wrote the first draft of that as well as five other manuscripts before the end of the year.

Later in 2013, my neighborhood association was giving me problems regarding my photography studio being located in my home, and it looked as if I was going to have to move.  So I took a break from running and writing, and I packed to move.  The only problem was that I couldn’t find a suitable place to move.  So I repainted my house and decided to stay and just deal with the neighborhood association.  Then I had to unpack everything and settle back in.

In 2014, I started babysitting for a friend of mine, and that took up a lot of my time.  I also started working with an attorney friend on several projects, including editing and even writing portions of a book he is authoring.  Additionally, I’ve had a lot more photography jobs than I did the previous year, and those have taken my time as well.  (Apparently weddings were on the decline in 2013 due to the number 13 being unlucky.  Numerous wedding vendors complained about the decrease in sales until someone actually took a poll and discovered this was why.  I never realized that many people suffered from triskaidekaphobia.  Weird, huh?)  Plus blogging every weekday ended up taking more time than I ever thought it would, too, though now I would miss it if I didn’t do it.

Needless, to say, my writing and my running have taken a backseat this year to other projects.  I’m sad to say I haven’t run at all this year.  I only wrote one and three-fourths new manuscript first drafts.  That was really disappointing.

But I did learn a lot more about the current rules of writing, so when I worked on editing my previous manuscripts, I feel that they were polished quite a bit.  I also realized this year that I really missed not writing.  I feel that this just cements that book writing was a good fit for me, and I’m glad that I tried it when I did.  I sold some short stories this year which made me happy.  And I obviously wrote even more short stories than I sold.  Those were fun as well.

Additionally, I started my author blog here, my author Facebook page, and my author Twitter this year.  And in doing so, I “met” many of you who I look forward to interacting with regularly.

So I guess John Lennon was right when he said, “Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.”  But next year, I hope to have a better handle on my time, and I definitely intend to make writing and running more of a priority.

Talk to me:  How did your 2014 compare to 2013 or other previous years?  Did you accomplish everything you hoped to this year?  Did your year fly by or drag on?

31 thoughts on “Flies

      • LOL! Not really. 13 was my track number, I was 13 when I fell in love with the ex, 13 when I got my first kiss… all lucky… got engaged to the ex on a Friday the 13th, his favorite quarterback was Dan Marino whose number was 13… it all gelled… then when things fell apart, it happened on a 13th, he had like 13 other kids while he was with me, etc. Not so lucky anymore. Not really worthy of a story… just more of a stupid kid making stupid choices kind of thing. Ah, but we live and learn. 🙂

    • Thank you! 🙂 Yes, I had painful shin splints for YEARS. I tried ALL KINDS of “remedies” none of which worked much if any. Then I stumbled across this website: http://gizmodo.com/5902699/banish-shin-splints-forever-with-one-magical-exercise There’s a short video and the written instructions at the bottom. Before I did these, I got shin splints just walking a quarter mile. The very day I did this the first time, I jogged a mile with almost no pain. By the end of the week, I was pain free. Now, I still do these every time I get ready to run. If it burns like hell the first time, then she’s doing it correctly. After the first three days or so, it really doesn’t hurt at all anymore. I find it works best barefooted and on a step rather than a curb because the curb is rounded and you don’t get the full bend of the foot. Good luck! ❤

  1. keep heading in the direction you’d like to go and you will get there eventually. the route may take twists and turns along the way, but you’ll get there and that’s what keeps life exciting.

  2. 2014 was a busy and wonderful year. I had one book published and another one finished. My older daughter and sister got married, and my younger daughter got engaged on Christmas Eve.

  3. Nice insight to your last 2 years. Interesting 2013 decrease in weddings fact. My 2014 was bittersweet. I started my blog in April which I feel was an amazing accomplishment since I was searching for what it was that I truly loved to do for quite some time. I thought it was jewelry making. Boy was I wrong. But this year also brought on the sadness of a mother in law betrayal which now has us in a lawsuit. May 2015 bring us positive results.

  4. Maybe 2014 was a year of transition and mind reorganization. At least you’ve got a good plan for 2015. I’d just look forward and not back! It’s old history! Happy New Year, Rachel! All good things for you in 2015. Christine

  5. In 2014 I did a lot of what I didn’t want to do and not as much as I wanted to do. I am planning to turn a new leaf in 2015. Wish me luck 🙂

  6. I think you accomplished one hell of a lot in 2014, Rachel.

    My view of you: You are an amazing writer and photographer. You have a big heart to everybody who comments to you here. You are my friend here, at blog, via Facebook and through email …

    I did not know you in 2013.

    Here’s to a great 2015, my friend. Set your goals, keep working hard, accomplishments will happen.

    Every year goes faster than the year previous, by the way. That’s a fact of life.

Leave a Reply

