Happy Birthday, Barry Livingston!

Today is the birthday of one of my favorite former child stars.  Barry Livingston played lovable Ernie Douglas on the long-time sitcom, My Three Sons (which was one of my favorite shows when I was little – in reruns, of course!).  (His real life older brother, Stanley Livingston, played his older brother Chip on the show.)  He’s guest-starred in a ton of television shows (as recently as this year!) and appeared in nearly two dozen movies.  And he’s also been in numerous on- and off-Broadway plays.  He is the only cast member of My Three Sons to still have an active Screen Actors Guild Card.

What you may not know, though, is that Mr. Livingston is also an author.  In 2011, he penned his autobiography, The Importance of Being Ernie.  (This clever title is a play on words from the Oscar Wilde play from 1895, “The Importance of Being Earnest.”)  And in case you’re wondering, yes, he writes as well as he acts!

Happy 61st Birthday, Mr. Livingston!

Time to talk:  Did you ever watch My Three Sons?  If so, who was your favorite son?  What was your favorite TV show when you were little?

27 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Barry Livingston!

  1. I loved that show (in reruns, as a kid, of course). I got suspended from high school for skipping school to watch the daily syndicated rerun at the local laundromat. Explaining to my parents “But, it was the series where Chip and Polly elope” wasn’t terribly convincing to them, but it made sense to me at the time. And still does, I guess.

  2. Pingback: My New Year’s Day | Rachel Carrera, Novelist

  3. I used to watch this show on Saturday nights (I think!) with my sister. Wasn’t Bob Considine on the show for a period of time as the eldest brother? I have a dim memory of him… but he may have been written out of the show. I liked Robbie best, especially when he married ‘Katie’ (one of the King Family cousins). Gosh, I can’t believe I still remember this stuff! 😀

    • Yes, he was on as the oldest brother, then he got married and left, and Robbie moved up to oldest, and they adopted Ernie…also moved from black & white to color that year. 🙂 I loved Katie! She was so pretty, and I loved her clothes! And yes, Robbie was so cute! I thought his chin dimple was just gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

