More on Autism

For this month’s blogpost on Autism, I had something prepared that gave you a glimpse into my own family’s autistic life and how it affects the holiday season.  However, after I wrote it, I searched for a picture to include that combined Autism with Christmas.  What I found was this wonderful (and very realistic) poem by Cindy Waeltermann.  So I’ll save my submission for another time, and for today, I’ll share her insightful poem with you…

(Click the images to make them larger and easier to read.)

That’s all for today, folks.  I’ll be back tomorrow with my regular post, and I’ll be back the first Sunday of next month with more on Autism.

29 thoughts on “More on Autism

  1. Number 7 in the Santa list really struck home. Our Stephanie, who is 21 years old, loves to hang out with children. Her favorite place to be is with the children of our church. And they love her, too. Thanks for these. I’m going to reblog them.

      • Mostly she takes it in her stride. But if we are out of the house too much she gets upset. She doesnt like her new toys. She prefers her old familiar ones, so we just leave them lying around on the floor where she can see and touch them if she wants. When she is used to them, we start to introduce them in play. It can take weeks and even months. Same with dvds. She loves Peppa Pig, but not new stories, so I put new ones on in the background when shes playing with other toys. That way they become familiar and eventually she will watch them. It took us years to figure all this out. We were really at a loss, but its fine now we know.

      • Wow, that sounds SO much like some of the autism symptoms my son had/has. Funny, you can talk to other parents, doctors, read books, etc., but in the end, you know you own child best. And you’re the best at figuring out what “shortcuts” and “clues” like that work. Does it bother her to watch her siblings get new toys? Does she even care to unwrap anything? I sure wish you and I lived close, or even on the same continent! I would love to meet you and Carys in person. She’s such a special girl and you’re such an amazing mom.

  2. I like that you mention that little steps or strides are landmarks and special moments in parents of children with autism. I also loved the reasons why Santa is autistic, he probably is right on the Asperger’s spectrum, so colorful and loving. I taught preschool children with many challenges, including autism. I am still in touch with some of those parents. One has a middle school child M.)who gets up with an alarm clock, makes her lunch (well, she puts the already prepared bags into her lunch box), and gets her backpack. M. needs help with dressing and some of her routines, but her mother is so excited that she still enjoys school. Hugs for this special message, Rachel.

    • Thanks. So many people don’t realize just how difficult some things are that everyone else takes for granted. My daughter had a note to remind her to brush her hair and teeth before school until she was in high school, yet she made straight A’s. Go figure! 🙂

Leave a Reply

