Happy Birthday, C.S. Lewis

Growing up in Christian school, we were only allowed to read from an approved Christian reading list.  So as you might imagine, I read a lot of C.S. Lewis when I was a kid.  My favorite was The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, though I liked all of The Chronicles of Narnia.

Mr. Lewis (born Clive Staples Lewis) entered this world on November 29, 1898, in Belfast, Ireland.  He was good friends with novelist, J.R.R. Tolkien, and he served on the English faculty at Oxford University.  He wrote more than thirty books which have sold more than a hundred million copies.  He died from renal failure on November 22, 1963, one week before his sixty-fifth birthday.  (Sadly, media coverage of his death was overshadowed by the assassination of John F. Kennedy that same day.)

Happy Birthday, Mr. Lewis!

24 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, C.S. Lewis

  1. Who doesnt love the Narnia stories? Grew up on them, they were my very first introduction to fantasy at the age of about 7… I can still remember it, listening to my red haired Scottish teacher (who was actually an evil witch, even though she looked as lovely as Farrah Fawcett Majors!) read The Voyage of the Dawn Treader out loud, and me so excited, I almost forgot to breathe! RIP CSLewis.

  2. I love C.S. Lewis. Unreservedly. I’ve learned more from him about God than I ever have from a phalanx of ministers. My favorite book is The Voyage of the Dawn Treader.

  3. I LOVE CS Lewis–especially the Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe. I discovered the books on my own in my school library probably when I was in 5th grade. I had no idea at the time of his faith (and now actually I’d say I like the books despite that) :). I just loved the English children–their talk of ginger beer and other British words, the magical wardrobe, and the lion. I probably read those books over and over. We were just talking about these books at Thanksgiving, and how my husband and I read them all to our daughters when they were little.

Leave a Reply

