Happy Thanksgiving!

I know most of my U.S. friends will be busy with Thanksgiving today, either enjoying food, football, friends, family, or some combination thereof.  Or perhaps they’re preparing for Black Friday shopping tomorrow.  (Or should I say tonight?)

So I’ll limit my Throwback Thursday to a photo of my plate from last year which is the exact thing I will be eating later today:

Starting at 11:00 on the plate, that’s filling (which is a homemade vegetarian version of stuffing), mashed potatoes, cheesy potato casserole, green bean casserole, and corn pudding.  (No, I don’t eat turkey or any meat except the occasional fish stick or tuna sandwich.)  The rest of my household will be enjoying these, as well as turkey, grilled herb chicken, cranberry sauce, cranberry-pecan-pineapple jello, stuffed acorn squash (we have another vegetarian in the group that likes that), pumpkin pie, chocolate lasagna (yes, I’ll have some of that!), peanut butter Oreo icebox pies (I’ll have some of that, too!), and possibly cherry cheese bars and cinnamon roasted pecans (if there’s time to make them).

So if you’re celebrating today, Happy Thanksgiving!  Also, if you’re participating, good luck and please be careful with Black Friday tonight and tomorrow!  And to everyone else, Happy Thursday!

Time to talk:  What are you eating today?  Will you cook it yourself or will someone else prepare it for you?  Do you do Black Friday?  If so, do you shop for yourself or for others?  Are you ready to start decorating for Christmas?

39 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. A special greeting of Thanksgiving time to express to you our sincere appreciation for your confidence and loyalty. We are deeply thankful and extend to you our best wishes for a happy and healthy Thanksgiving Day

  2. What’s Black Friday? Sounds like a stock market crash! As for me my lunch today consisted of a French cereal bread and the smelliest ripe Munster (a strong french cheese that pongs of old socks) with sliced french beef tomatoes! Enjoy your day young Rachel.

    • LOL! Yes, it does sound like a stock market crash. It’s the Friday after Thanksgiving when all the stores re-open with huge sales. However, in the last decade or so, it’s gotten earlier and earlier, and this year, it actually started Thanksgiving afternoon around 5:00! People camp out for days ahead of time to get a good place in line, and the parking lots are filled to capacity everywhere. People often get injured or killed. And the sales only last a limited number of hours or sometimes you can get “tickets” to purchase one of a limited number of sale items. Your lunch sounded delicious!! 😀

      • From watching the TV news last night I see this wretched Black Friday thing has reached these shores – people fighting and rioting in shops – hospitalizations the lot. What is it with people? Beats me! Lunch was good by the way!

  3. Happy Thanksgiving Rachel. I’m making sweet potato and cranberry casserole, crust-less pumpkin pie, dressing, and whatever else strikes my fancy when I begin cooking. It will probably be vegetarian, with some fish I have thawing in the fridge baked and added to the menu. A “hodge podge” kind of dinner for one.

  4. Happy Thanksgiving! I’m sat here at work at the moment, but will be having sausages and omelette tonight I think as the sausages and eggs have to be eaten. I will be preparing them myself 🙂
    I’ll probably check the Amazon Black Friday offers tomorrow at work, but I doubt I’ll buy anything. I’m never fast enough 😦

  5. Happy Thanksgiving! Every year my sister-in-law creates the most magnificent meal w/ the usual T-Day favorites, but with a gourmet twist. She let me make the pies this year, so I’m excited to finally contribute. We usually go to the Detroit Thanksgiving Day Parade, but due to the tensions emanating from Ferguson we decided to watch from home this year. I expect it to be a wonderful parade with no problems, but we thought it would be better to skip this year. We might do a little Black Friday shopping if we find something we have to have in the ads but otherwise it will be a lovely day if family, friends, food and love. Best day if the year!

  6. Turkey, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, stuffing, gravy, corn, green bean casserole, biscuits, cranberry sauce, pie. Urp. No Black Friday shopping for me unless I need to go to a store by mistake or accident. Happy Thanksgiving, Rachel and Michelle and all of your family and friends. 🙂

  7. Looking good on that plate. I made the cranberry sauce, my husband made his traditional thanksgiving dinner of which I will eat the veggie dishes. He did find a wonderful recipe for a veggie stuffing that knocked my socks off complete with cranberries ground and raisins and nuts…just oh yum. I managed not to gorge myself this year. (Critical given I have an esophagus which constricts trapping food and forcing it to places that food doesn’t belong (vocal cords, lung) As always what’s best is who is sharing this meal One of my daughters made it this year(yay) and those in our hearts and prayers .
    Black Friday will hopefully seem less ominous in that I will be going for 5 tests tomorrow. Ugh -unless I get too close to the max allowable rads. ANywho… following that my dear friend from NY will be coming to our home with her 2 wonderful furkids- a gorgeous greyhound, Zoe and an adorable Heintz 57, ELmo. Mine know they’re coming I swear. They are so excited!! SO all in all nice set up for a memorable weekend.

  8. I hope you enjoyed your meal and had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    Ours was delicious. I make a turkey for most of the family, but we also have vegetarian stuffing (just our regular bread stuffing not cooked in the bird), turkey gravy and vegetarian gravy, creamed onions, a sweet potato casserole that my brother made, the “famous” cranberry squirrel :), homemade applesauce, green beans with almonds and dried cranberries, homemade challah and pumpkin bread, and then pumpkin cheesecake that my daughter made, pecan pies (made by my sister), and pumpkin pie and brownies that I made.

    No Black Friday shopping for me!

      • Challah is a type of bread. It’s a Jewish egg bread traditionally served in braided loafs at Friday night Sabbath meals, and the round ones at made for Rosh Hashanah, the Jewish New Year. It also makes great cinnamon toast and French Toast! 🙂

      • Oh, okay! It sounds delicious! My best friend in Canada is Jewish, so I should have known that. I’ve photographed several Jewish weddings and the food is always delicious! 🙂

  9. My hubby makes Icebox Cake: graham crackers and chocolate pudding layered in a loaf pan topped w cool whip. Would be interested in your icebox pie directions 🙂

    • Sure…Below is the original recipe…However, I will be adding 3/4 cup sugar to the peanut butter mix the next time I make it. The original way was good, but I had to add a couple of packets of sugar to make it better. 🙂 (And I bet this could be put in a pie pan instead of mason jars, too.)

      Ingredients
      20 Oreo cookies
      ½ cup Peanut butter
      1 (8 ounce) package of cream cheese, softened
      1 (8 ounce) container of Cool Whip (whipped topping), thawed
      6 pint Mason jars
      extra cookies to garnish

      Instructions
      Grind the cookies in a food processor until fine crumbs have formed.
      In a large bowl beat the Peanut butter and cream cheese until it’s blended and fluffy. (And add the sugar I talked about above)
      Fold in the Cool Whip very gently so the mixture stays light and airy.
      Spoon the cookie crumbs into the bottom of each jar. Add the Peanut butter mousse mixture over the crumbs.
      Tap the jars on the counter to let the mousse settle so it will layer pretty.
      Add another couple of spoonfuls of cookies and then more mousse.
      Tap the jars on the counter again.
      Refrigerate for a couple of hours until you are ready to serve.

      Garnish with a few sprinkles of the cookie crumbs and a whole cookie upon serving.

Leave a Reply

