Jah, I Think Amish Books Are Wonderful Gut

I think it’s kind of funny that I write psychological thrillers, but I almost exclusively read Amish fiction.  I used to read a lot of thrillers, horror, and other such stories, but a few years ago, I hit a patch of life that was so hard, I wasn’t sure I’d survive.  That’s when I turned to the Amish and found their life to be peaceful and calming.  So when I read an Amish novel, I enjoy finding out about their simple life, how they survive without electricity and gadgets and a lot of store bought items, how much faith they have that things will turn out the way they’re supposed to, and I also like when the author inserts some of the Amish’s High German.

What I write is often based loosely on my own life experiences.  And I haven’t had the easiest life.  Nor have I had the most stable people in my life.  So the psychological thriller genre works for me.  However, when I write, it’s often emotionally draining because I have to vividly recall whatever incident I went through and relive it as I fictionalize it and put it to paper.  As such, I then enjoy turning to a bit of Amish fiction to renew my optimism.

Today marks the birthday of my second favorite Amish fiction author, Wanda Brunstetter.  She’s written nearly seventy books with over eight million copies sold, many of which have been on top bestseller lists.

So, if you have any interest whatsoever in Amish fiction, I highly recommend any of Mrs. Brunstetter’s novels.  Happy Birthday, Mrs. Brunstetter!

20 thoughts on “Jah, I Think Amish Books Are Wonderful Gut

    • I’ve read lost of Stephen King, John Saul, etc., most of my life, so scary stuff doesn’t bother me…. stressful stuff bothers me now (like when people argue such as in some of my books with the domestic violence theme), but I can deal with it. Your stuff isn’t stressful though, and it’s also very entertaining. Plus I very much like the paranormal aspect of yours.

  1. I haven’t had an easy life and I imagine it would be draining going back and resurrecting some of it to write. Maybe that’s why I love psychological thriller movies. One of my favorites is “The Perfect Murder” with Gwyneth Paltrow and Michael Douglas.

  2. I’ve never read Amish fiction, Rachel, though I surely wish Wanda a happy birthday. About 30 miles east of Syracuse, there are pockets of Mennonites living on farms. There traditions are very close to the Amish.

  3. Let me guess…. Beverly Lewis is your favorite Amish author??? I know there are many out there, so I’m just taking a stab in the dark.

    I don’t read Amish fiction that much, but I am a huge fan of Christian fiction. I have read a few Amish books and I’ve enjoyed the ones I’ve read. I’m glad to hear that you read them! I don’t know many people in my sphere of friends who do.

    • I love psychological thrillers (which is of course what I write), but I do find the Amish so relaxing. I also like that they usually have a bit of romance and a bit of mystery and adventure involved. 🙂

  4. Ah Rachel. It’s something when the disease kicks in when my mind is trying to do so. I read what you wrote initially reading that you read Amish psychological thrillers. And imagine my surprise that you did it to relax!! Too funny! If I only had a brain. I think everyone has to find their way to relax and it makes sense that reading of a simple uncomplicated way of living would bring you that reprieve. It must be unbelievably exhausting to go through your experiences before writing. That would be too much for most. I applaud that in doing so you are turning them into something higher, something creative. Thank you for your comments on my blogs- they are greatly appreciated.

  5. The Amish book such The Bishop’s Daughter This book draws a nice conclusion to the Daughters of lancaster County series. Unresolved issues that carried over from the previous two books finally reach a climax in this installment of the triology. Leona Weaver, the Bishop’s daughter, is dealing with a grieving heart and Jimmy Scott is trying to find out who he really is.

  6. I didn’t know Amish fiction existed, although I’m very fond of Amish food, which I ate in huge quantities in Amish restaurants in Florida. I will look into Wanda Brunstetter.

Leave a Reply

