The Old House

I had so many “goosebumps” stories this month, I had a hard time narrowing them down to only one a day.  So this bonus post will be my actual Throwback Thursday.  With Halloween only one day away, I thought a haunted house story would be most appropriate.

I was seven and a half years old when I wrote this.  I was in the third grade, and while we didn’t use cursive writing yet, we had the cursive alphabet on a border around the classroom.  When I was little, I thought cursive was just the fanciest writing ever.  (Which is funny because after years of longing to learn how to write cursive, I now almost exclusively print.)

Anyway, thankfully, my handwriting improved, and my storytelling did, too.  This “story” (if you can even call it that!) is hilarious!  As a little kid, I apparently had a knack for setting up the story and concluding it, but there was never a middle!  (Nowadays, I struggle to keep the conflict and resolution under 95,000 words!)

Anyway, in case you can’t read my “chicken scratch” as my teacher would’ve called it, I’ve typed out the translation below, and I’ve also corrected “scull” to be “skull.”

One other thing of noteworthiness, please take note of how I used an excessively bold, fancy, O in “Once” at the beginning of the story.  When I was little, if a book had the fancy O, I just knew an awesome story would follow.

Once upon a time, there was an old house.  Nobody lived in it for it was haunted.  A skull [scull] was in it and old bones, too.  And whenever anybody went in it, the bones came together and ate [eat] the people or else a ghost spooked them out by saying, “BOO!” because they didn’t want anyone in their [there] house.  They knew how to do everything.   Ghosts and spooks lived there because it was a ghost town.  Then the ghosts did not spook anymore people.

They could live there now and everyone in Ghost Town wanted to live there and the ghosts and them made friends.  And they lived happily ever after.  The End

Let’s talk…  Did my story make you laugh?  Did you used to notice the fancy O at the beginning of “Once upon a time?”  Would you have been afraid to go in this old house before the ghosts made friends with everybody? 

24 thoughts on “The Old House

      • You ought to see G trying to open a can of beans! He needs a left handed opener. We’ve tried the old fashioned ones; electric one’s the lot – he is totally left handed handed. Still in this dull period he has taken up a bit of cooking a skill he did not previously possess. Funny how he can be so cack-handed yet give him his guitar and he suddenly becomes 100% dexterous!

      • Oh, that’s so interesting! (Or maybe he just really hates to cook!) Jeremy was so left handed, he writes each letter from bottom to top, right to left. When he was little, I set up his computer to be a left-handed mouse, but his teachers refused to cooperate and stuck his left side against a wall so he had to learn to use his right. (GRR! The meanies!) And I always wondered how he could easily drive with his right foot.

  1. Ha! Like Mike I was going to make a handwriting related comment as well. Not only is my current handwriting worse than this, my handwriting is also worse than it was when I was in 3rd grade! Also, yes, funny how inspiring this spookiness is. I’ve been doing Halloween theme for the last half of the month and I still have things that are unpublished.

  2. That’s so cute! Yes, I always notice the first letter of a book, and it often disappoints me when it’s not a little foofy. 🙂 And I’m such a scaredy cat that, yes, I wouldn’t want to go into that house.

Leave a Reply

