I Wish I Could Take This One Back!

Sometimes, I have gut feelings that pan out, and I wish they wouldn’t.  I’ve actually had several of these about my kids that if you knew the whole story, you’d realize it’s more than just “mother’s intuition.”  They are things that are completely out of left field, and a person should never suspect those things about another person.  (But I can’t share those with you because I don’t think my kids would ever speak to me again if I did.)

I thought about using creative license and merely changing their names, but if I did that, it would be completely bizarre that I’d have those gut feelings about someone that I was not as close to as my kids, and again, it’d be weird.

So, unfortunately those are all off limits during my “Goosebumps” theme this month.  However, for Today’s Throwback Thursday, there’s another instance of me saying something out loud, only to later wish I could take it back…

In late June 2005, my sister and I were driving somewhere several hours away.  She started to fall asleep (which I hate!) so I bugged her to stay awake while I drove.  Finally, she asked me to make up a story and tell her so she could focus on something and wake up.

So, I thought about it, and though I don’t know why I was compelled to tell this story, I made up a tale about a woman who was in London on The Tube with two of her children, and suddenly the subway tunnel filled with water as a bomb went off, then another, then another.

The woman and her kids ended up being saved by an older teenage boy who had black and blue hair, tattoos, and multiple piercings, but not until hours later, at which time there was one more explosion elsewhere.  The explosions happened early in the morning, and she was on her way home to Italy during rush hour traffic that morning.

Just a little more than a week later, on July 7, 2005, I woke to the news of London being bombed by terrorists!  Three bombs went off on underground trains killing 52 people and injuring more than 700.  Later, a fourth bomb went off on a double decker bus.

Of course, there was no mention of the tunnel filling with water, nor do I have any way of knowing if an Italian woman with two children was saved by a teenage boy, but how odd that my story about three bombs going off in London’s underground and one later elsewhere came to pass.

Talk to me:  Have you ever said something in passing and later it came true?  Have I succeeded in giving you goosebumps yet this month?

31 thoughts on “I Wish I Could Take This One Back!

  1. Every year, my parents went to the German Club to celebrate New Year’s. And every year Cathy across the street babysat my brother and I. One year, Cathy wasn’t available and my parents got another sitter. I didn’t like her. And I told her, or just thought it in my head (I can’t really remember) that I hoped she got hit by a car on the way home. Not sure if it happened that night, or shortly afterward, but she was hit by car and passed away. I remember thinking I was a witch or something. I learned that day that words and thoughts are powerful and should be chosen carefully.
    Diana xo

    • I agree, Diana. I’ve had stuff like that happen when I was younger, too, and it always made me feel horrible as if I somehow caused it. I learned at least to not put it out there when mean people were involved. 🙂

  2. That was a spooky premonition, Rachel. I was really absorbed by your story and trip. I had a grandma who called out of the blue, saying tell your Dad not to be so hard on your brother…when my Dad who rarely spanked us, had accidentally grabbed his belt and hit my brother with the buckle. He had to take him to the hospital. She lived with my grandpa in Florida, we live in Ohio. It was not a national scene but it still makes me wonder about how people are so interconnected.

Leave a Reply

