Just a Friendly Reminder

Yesterday, I told you about the law firm where I worked where I accurately predicted the reasons for Jeri’s absences for an entire week, and I mentioned that Jan* already knew how spot-on my gut feelings could be.

While I worked at that same office, I frequently got feelings, either good or bad, when I signed up new clients.  One particular client we had seemed to be sweet, but I just had a very bad feeling about her.  My boss always got angry when I told him such things because he didn’t want to hear anything negative about the people he represented, but with this particular client, I couldn’t let it go.

This woman had come to us because her parents died due to a faulty appliance which started a fire, and she was suing the manufacturer.  Almost a year passed, and every time I had to see or talk to her, I just couldn’t shake the feeling that she was evil.  (And, yes, I realize what a strong word “evil” is, yet that’s what it felt like.)

Finally my boss threatened to fire me if I didn’t stop badmouthing this client to him.  After that, I kept my opinions to myself for the most part, except I did continue to confide in Jan and tell her what was on my mind.

As it turned out, just as this case was getting ready to go to trial, the client was arrested! It turned out she’d embezzled over $50,000 from her employer some time back, was caught and fired, and was given a certain time period to return the money.  And after further investigation, it turned out that she was who tampered with the appliance in her parents’ house then left them there, knowing a fire would start moments later.  (Of course, when my boss learned this, he was angry that I didn’t insist that he listen to me earlier when I tried to warn him, but that’s another story.)

Anyway, that was just one more instance of Jan seeing my instinct in action.  So several years later, when neither of us worked there for more than a dozen years, I had a dream about her having a “private” health issue, and I called her.  We hadn’t spoken in over a year, and had only spoken about once or twice a year for the past decade.

However, when I told her my dream, she didn’t hesitate to call her doctor and make an appointment right away.  As it turned out, she did have a growth exactly where I told her it would be.  It was caught early, and her doctor was able to laser it off with no residual effects, though her doctor did say that had she not come in when she did, it could’ve easily caused some major complications.

(*Not her actual name)

Time to talk:  Have you ever dreamed of a coworker?  Do you stay friends with coworkers long after you stop working together?  Have you ever just “known” that someone was not a good person?

25 thoughts on “Just a Friendly Reminder

  1. I try to continue to maintain relationships with people after the job closes, but it’s hard. And yes, there are times when I feel like I should avoid a certain person, but those normally come when I can’t get a read on someone–some people are either very good at “blocking” me or give me very mixed feelings. Ironically, I’m normally better at forming my own opinions (rather than just getting these intuitions that “make” me want to like or dislike someone) on children and people my own age (perhaps because they have far less mental “clutter” to deal with?), while adults are far more likely to give me a “feeling.” Maybe I’m just one of those people who’s very good at detecting the micro-expressions that give away people’s inward thoughts…
    It’s kind of like this dream I once had about various characters. Some of them are hard to tell who and what they’re doing on the very first page, while others (though you still don’t know what they’re doing) you can tell right-off are trustworthy and kind. I dreamed a few days ago that I got caught up in the Clone Wars at the very start in AotC, and while I couldn’t get Dooku (like if I was meeting him for the first time–aren’t dreams wonderful things?), I could pretty much guess that I’d be okay if I stuck near Obi-Wan… That’s probably why I like the character. He’s trustworthy and steady, very much the protector. 😉

      • Attacked by worms?! Yikes! That’s scary and bizarre… I can’t believe that I didn’t have nightmares last night, since there are some pretty horrific things perpetrated by the villains in “That Hideous Strength.”
        I finished reading the book, by the way! 😀 I’ll have to review it.

    • Well, it’s kind of embarrassing… Just think if you had to call one of your man buddies who you haven’t seen in years and say, “Hey, I had an oddly personal dream about you… You really ought to go get a prostrate exam.” LOL! 🙂

      • Oddly a number of years ago I friend was mentioning a ‘personal’ problem when I said just that. He did nothing about it and died of cancer a few years down the line – my mate was a hard man; built like the fine boxer he was. Funny old world.

  2. Have I ever “just known” that someone wasn’t a good person? All the time. Have I ever been told I’m insane because I believe it’s possible for ANYONE to know things like that? All the time. [details deleted — I don’t want my comment to be longer than your blog post *grin*]

    I understand what it’s like to be both an empath and a precog. (See, it’s NOT a “women’s intuition” thing — I’m a guy. I don’t think this discriminates on the basis of gender.) Not easy, even if you don’t ever tell anyone in order to avoid being called crazy for being right. (And what’s up with that?? “No, you’re wrong. You cannot possible know that it will happen. Why do you even think it will?” And then it happens, and they say, “You were right. You must be insane. Only a delusional person would have known beforehand that it would happen.”) At least you get some practical use out of your abilities — mine is mostly only good for precogging trivia and for writing fiction.

    • LOL! Most of mine is actually only good for knowing when my {grown} kids are up to something sneaky. I have SO many stories that are beyond what “normal” parents and kids deal with but unfortunately, I’m not going to write about them because my kids would disown me. Otherwise, it’s usually random stuff like this. 🙂

      However about being an empath, I do have a ton of stories in the arsenal, but I just don’t think they’d be interesting to anyone else except someone like you who is also an empath. Such as the *numerous* times women have left their baby and purse in a shopping cart and asked me to watch them in line at the store while they went and got something they forgot. Or the inordinate amount of people who I meet and then they tell me their life stories and problems in the first 15 minutes. (I KNOW you get THAT all the time too.) Or the uncomfortable physical feelings I get when I’m around a toxic person. I want to hear some of yours. 🙂

  3. Your intuition goes so far beyond the scope of that word, Rachel. You are a saving grace to some people, as this tale proves again. Keep telling the people about your root feelings of evil and bad things to come and let them act to prevent it!

    • LOL! Yes, the trouble is, I warn people all the time, but they rarely listen… And then they want to complain to me when what I predicted comes true. My kids, my sister Michelle and my BFF Lora are all guilty of that SO often it’s crazy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

