Miamibound

Sometimes, my dreams mean nothing.  For example, once I was going to be going to Boston for a week, and I had a repeated dream that I was going to be mugged in a dark alleyway.  I almost cancelled my trip, but decided to go forward with it.  I was never mugged, though I did avoid walking on streets with alleys after dark, so perhaps that was all the dream was meant to warn me to do.

At any rate, I’ve had enough dreams that do come to pass, that I generally make it a point to tell at least one person when I have them so that someone will know I really did dream it before it happened.

Case in point:  When I was a teenager, I had a good friend named Lisa.  We were both young moms, and we both grew up in our grandmas’ houses.  We decided to have a getaway and go to Miami for a girls’ weekend.  We both arranged for our Grandmas to babysit, and we mapped out our activities.

Again, this was in the days before computers and the internet, so when I say we mapped out our trip, we literally used a map and planned our route.  We also contacted a travel agent and got brochures of several things to do while we were there.  Even though we would only be gone for three days, we wanted to make the most of our time away from Mommyhood.

However, as the weekend of our trip approached, I repeatedly had a dream of the two of us being involved in a horrific car accident.  We went to school together and also hung out together quite frequently, so it wasn’t out of the realm of possibility that we would be seen in a car together.  But as the days went by, I saw that our children were not in the backseat as they usually were in real life.  There weren’t even any baby car seats in the back.  I told Lisa about all my dreams, and she just laughed and said it was pre-vacation jitters about leaving the kids.

Finally, the night before our trip, I had the dream yet again, only this time, I saw a sign that said I-95 South… the very highway we would be using to go to Miami.  When Lisa woke up, I told her about that dream, and the color drained from her face.  She didn’t blow me off as she had previously.  We decided then and there to forget the trip altogether.  She went home and picked up her baby, and we took the kids to the park instead.

That night, Lisa and her child spent the night with me, and we watched the news…  And there was a huge accident on Southbound I-95 near Miami.  A semi crossed the lanes, multiple cars piled up, and many people died.  And it happened around the same time of day that we would’ve been there, had we left on time.

Time to talk…  Have you ever changed your plans because of a dream you or someone else had?  Have you ever had a bad feeling about doing something or going somewhere for no good reason?

38 thoughts on “Miamibound

  1. There is a lot we don’t understand, that doesn’t mean the experience is not valid. There are some things science just hasn’t figured out, yet. Steve Volk wrote a fabulous book, Fringeology, about the strained relationship between science and the paranormal. If you are a skeptical believer, you’ll love it. I have had enough personal experiences to believe there is some connection between psi experiences and quantum mechanics. I hope I live to see a greater understanding of the issue.

  2. I always wonder what danger I’ve escaped when my plans are suddenly changed on me (usually this is just to make myself feel better when the change is the result of me messing something up!) but wow, quite a different thing to actually SEE what fate you missed!

    I actually have had one “prophetic” dream, though to this day I don’t know if I just turned it into a self-fulfilling prophecy. About a week before a long train trip my husband and I were supposed to take, I dreamed that on our way to the station we were caught up in a huge, bizarre carnival and our train left without us. The day of departure, the train was estimated to be late arriving by an hour, so we decided we had time to go outside and get some air. Damned if there wasn’t a big music festival going on not far from the station. It was huge but nowhere near as grotesque as the fair in my dream, until we got to one street corner with a creepy old puppet show going on. At that point I panicked and said “OK, this was in my dream. Maybe I’m crazy, but trains can make up time — we have to get back to the station!” It took us half an hour to get back through the crowds. And yes, the train was gone when we got there, stranding us until the next day’s departure. I know I have a vivid imagination, but that still freaks me out! And needless to say, I’m sort of manic about being on time for trains now… 🙂

    • WOW! That’s some dream! I don;t know, I think it was more predictive than a self-fulfilling prophecy. You’d have had no idea of knowing there was a music festival there, right?

      I’ve had a dream for 21 years now, since my son was born, that he was abducted. He’s usually a different age and disappears in a different manner each time, but each time I dream this, it always feels so real and scares me to go back to sleep for the rest of the night and usually the next night. I usually have this dream about once a month. Yikes! Thankfully, he’s never really been abducted! 🙂

      • Yes indeed, knocking wood! Recurrent dreams especially give me the willies, though I’ve only ever had one or two that eventually went away… I think being a mom just sets you up for all kinds of subconscious worry; it would be nice though if this one would let up already — once a month is definitely more than enough! 😦 There are supposedly ways to intervene in dreams like that and make them end the way you want them to (and for good) but I’ve yet to learn that juju!

  3. Dang! I don’t think I’ve ever had a warning dream that turned out to be real, but I often have bizarre, vivid dreams that make me think I have forgotten memories. Like, dream me will see something like a painting and think “I painted that” or a house and think “I’ve been here before” and I’ll wake up and think, “No, I haven’t.” Did I paint that and forget it? Or did only dream me think I did? I’ve had to ask my mom several times if something happened or not because I dreamed about it and it seemed SO familiar. So weird!

  4. Rachel,I am not surprised to hear of you having had a prophetic dream as I sense you might be somewhat of a sensitive- in that you may not be full blow a psychic but definitely are more likely to have connections with whatever it is that people find renders them more in touch with that side of themselves.
    As for me, I have had times of intense feelings of doom ( especially during the night or upon awakening) a day or so previous to a major catastrophic event in my mind…a local violent accident, a major health event of a loved one. More commonly I have awakened during the night with a profound sadness and feeling of doom – only to find out on the morning news about a large scale awful occurance ( huge typhoon ot a tornado that was particularly awful for those there (The one in Joplin, MO, the typhoon in Asia near Christmas a few years back.)
    On the night my dad went in for emergency surgery, I remember my aunt had come to be with us while mom was at the hospital. The Monkees tv show came on and it was one where they were dressed and singing as angels . I went out of the room, feeling most over whelmed and went into my mom’s beauty shop, looked in the mirror and said “he’s gone,” 15 minutes later, my mom called and told my aunt he had died. She didn’t tell us, waited for mom to come home and tell us. Now I didn’t tell people about that because they would say it was just a coincidence with seeing that show and dad having had surgery.- but something I found was that when I have had experiences of an intuition as such, those around me would immediately set about reassuring me it was just anxiety and pay it no mind. We are taught to not listen to those inner voices we speak to ourselves with.
    Now I have a close friend who when I shared some of my marital struggles with used to say , “you know he’s a jerk.” not uncommon. One time though she said I hope he breaks his neck when he went away once. This was most uncharacteristic of her to say such a thing. Damned if during that trip, he broke a number of vertebrae in his neck. Alone that may be seen as coincidence. But her mom had a dear friend going through bad times with her spouse. and she said something’s gonna stop him in his tracks. Damned if the fire trucks didn’t go down to their house that day as the house burned to the ground. I don’t think he died but barely got away with his life. DOn’t piss those gals off. Needless to say, they were very cautious with their words and thoughts after sucj things.
    While on a trip with that same friend a few of our kids, we had stopped just a couple of hundred miles for the night. Upon arising we were getting ready with the hustle and bustle of 2 women and 4 kids in one room when I said, Esther, get the door honey…coffee’s here.” Esther said don’t be silly we didn’t call for it and no one knocked (she had been right near the door, but opened it anyway. There low and behold was the maid with a pot of coffee and a ticket with our room number and the name we were checked in under- neither of us called it in and no one we knew had any idea of the hotel we had stopped at. Cue the weird music. lol

    • LOL! The coffee one is eerie…. The others about the husbands are really spooky. 🙂 And the one about your dad is just amazing. That’s the reason I’ve learned to always tell someone when I have such dreams or feelings so that if or when they happen, some will know I really did feel it first. 🙂

  5. Whoa. I don’t think I’ve ever had this sort of dream, but I do know that sometimes I wake up at night just knowing I should pray and a few times this has happened, and then the next morning Mom gets a call and it turns out one of my friends was sick during the night.

      • Yeah. I normally start to pray when I wake up in the middle of the night. But sometimes it’s just restlessness and discomfort… For some reason I never seem to get “heartburn” or whatever it’s called, but I don’t eat Papa Murphy’s pizza before going to bed any more (well, I avoid it as much as possible, really…) Though it’s delicious, it always gives me a stomach upset.

  6. Yes, I have definitely had strong, intuitive feelings, both good and bad, that I have learned to pay attention to. And dreams as well that have seemed to warn me or point me in a certain direction. These are great posts, Rachel, and thank you for sharing them!

Leave a Reply

