Happy Birthday, Stephen King!

I’ve made it no secret that Stephen King is one of my favorite authors.  Today, Mr. King turns 67 years old!  He was born on September 21, 1947 in Portland, Maine.  He’s published over fifty novels, close to two hundred short stories, and five non-fiction books.  Furthermore, he’s sold more than 350 million copies of his books and has won numerous awards.

His definition for talent in writing is quite simple:  “If you wrote something for which someone sent you a check, if you cashed the check and it didn’t bounce, and if you then paid the light bill with the money, I consider you talented.”

I would be hard pressed to narrow his books down to only one favorite.  I think it depends on what kind of mood I’m in as to which I might like best.  I think probably The Shining, Salem’s Lot, Carrie, Firestarter, Pet Sematary, Misery, Needful Things, Thinner, Delores Claiborne, Four Past Midnight (short stories) and It are among my favorites.  As far as his books that have become movies, if I’ve already read the book, I don’t usually like to see the movie because it generally disappoints me (because the book is so much better).  But if I haven’t read the book yet, I’ll likely watch the movie then follow up and read the book.  The movies never do his books justice.

Happy 67th Birthday, Stephen King!

24 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Stephen King!

  1. I really like Stephen King’s books as well, he’s one of my favourite authors. I ‘ve read and enjoyed virtually all his books, Salem’s Lot is still my all time favourite. It was the first King book I ever read and I was hooked after a few chapters. I’m currently reading the paperback of Dr Sleep, and I’m really enjoying that as well. Happy Birthday Stephen King! 😀

  2. I’ve read a couple of his books, but then stayed awake all night after reading them, afraid of what I would dream, so I kinda lay off him now. He can spin some really good stories though, even if they do give me nightmares.

  3. I like many of his books, especially the one about the time traveler who tries to prevent the Kennedy assassination and things go awry. My favorite collection by him is ‘Hearts in Atlantis.’

Leave a Reply

