Children vs. Parents

The theme is interactive games.  Today’s game is to Identify TV Shows That Feature Non-Traditional Ipso Facto Parents Living in the Home.  What I mean is there may be a natural parent (or other natural relative) of the children, but then there’s another person that lives in the home who’s not a parent, but acts as a parent.

The rules are as follows:

1. You have to include the name of the TV show.
2. You have to include the name of the actor who plays the part of the non-parent parent.
3. You have to include the name of the non-parent parent character.
4. You have to include the relationship the said character is to the children.
5. You may NOT repeat any of my examples. (Preferably, please don’t repeat any examples from the comments above yours.)
6. You may NOT use the internet to reference anything. (Please play honestly.)
7. You may NOT include a step-parent.

First, I’ll provide some examples, then it’s your turn:

Alright, now it’s your turn.  I hope that each of you will rise to the occasion and play along with me.  I’ll look forward to reading your answers below…

Time to let me know… Who is your favorite television actor or actress?  Why?

36 thoughts on “Children vs. Parents

  1. “Gilligan’s Island,” with William Hale as the Skipper, surrogate father to Gilligan played by Bob Denver. I hope you accept this one, Rachel, even though he only called his “Little Buddy” and not “Son.”

    Favorite TV actor or actress … hmm … out of this big, bright universe that has given me so much entertainment? Chris Harrison for “Bachelors/ettes, it’s time for the final rose” perhaps? Nah, not enough air time. … Carol O’Connor for Archie Bunker, maybe? Nope, too mean-spirited to Meathead. … Jim and Pam on “The Office” I love dearly still for their smart romance, but I can’t even tell you the actors’ names off the top of my so out they go. … Jerry Seinfeld from “Seinfeld” is my winner, Rachel. I can recite so many lines and plots from the show about nothing that it’s slightly disturbing. Jerry grew up about 20 miles from me on Long Island and I think we drank the same water.

    Thanks for this question, my friend.

  2. Wow… this one is hard. You’ve mentioned the ones I was thinking of… I got nuthin’ for ya! 😀

    BUT I will tell you that my favorite television actress was Barbara Stanwyck. I loved her in THE BIG VALLEY – she was gracious and beautiful. It didn’t hurt that she had three hunks for sons, either. I missed that show during its original run, and later caught up with it in reruns. It was pretty darned good, and she was the cement that held it together.

    My favorite TV actor? Don’t laugh – but it’s gotta be William Shatner. He was, after all, THE captain of the Enterprise. (That Patrick Stewart guy was a faux captain… just teasing, I like Stewart, too.) Shatner cracks me up, but in a good way. He could make the phone book sound like Hamlet with the manner in which he emotes. I actually got to meet him last summer. He was a very gracious man, much to my surprise – I’d heard so much bad press about him.

    You have the best posts, Rachel. I always look forward to seeing what you come up with.

  3. I’m doing a triple one. NINJA’D! 😛
    It’s not all a TV series, but the latter part is and all three characters appear in the TV series. So I think it’s valid.
    Star Wars, Qui-Gon Jinn, Obi-Wan Kenobi, Anakin Skywalker, Ahsoka Tano (THREE GENERATIONS! >:-D Now I have to name all those actors. Bummer. :-P) Anyway… Liam Neeson, EwanMcGregor/James Arnold Taylor, Hayden Christiansen/Matt Lanter, Ashley Eckstein. Qui-Gon is Obi-Wan’s father figure, Obi-Wan is Anakin’s father/big brother, and also a sort of father figure to Ahsoka (and Luke as well, though that’s not as fleshed out), while Anakin is Ahsoka’s master and big brother.
    (I just thought that Obi-Wan’s place in the prequels was rather unique. He’s on the upper end, age-wise, of the main cast, not counting Qui-Gon since Qui-Gon wasn’t there for all three films, and sort of acts as the big brother, keeping everyone else out of trouble and in line, and they mentioned in the making-of that the actor was fulfilling the same role off-camera as well. But anyway, so Obi-Wan was the person of varying popularity, as any elder sibling will attest 😛 when all he was trying to do was watch out for Anakin. And Anakin ended up hating him. Kind of sad.)

    • Oh, and none of those four people is actually related (unless you happen to look at my old and ridiculously complex genealogy sheets, which indicate that at some point before the Kenobi family/clan settled on Steujan they intermarried with the ancestors of what would be the Skywalker family at least once, and at some point they intermarried again twice more. This is based partly on the fact that for some inexplicable reason, it is extremely rare for Kenobis to have blue eyes; only two “documented” instances, and partly on the fact that the Skywalkers had one recurring freak of genetics which caused the occasional daughter with six fingers; it was ONLY the daughters, though, and this same trait also occasionally occurred with some of the Kenobi women, though never with the men. Yes, this is all just my ideas, my “headcanon”… I am reasonably sure that I have a problem. 😛 )
      About the four people I listed; three of them are human, but Ahsoka is another species entirely. “She’s adopted.” 😛

Leave a Reply

