Happy Birthday, Bob Newhart!

As you all know, I like to acknowledge my favorite authors’ birthdays.  Today happens to be the birthday of one of my favorite authors who is also one of my all-time favorite actors!  George Robert “Bob” Newhart was born on September 5, 1929, in Chicago, Illinois.

After his stint in the United States Army, he went on to be an accountant and then a comedian.  From there, he went into television acting and then got into films.  And as if that wasn’t enough, in 2007, he wrote his autobiography, I Shouldn’t Even Be Doing This!

Shortly after this book was published, I spent about two months in Canada and had already read the numerous books I took with me.  So, on my way home, I stopped in the Airport in Buffalo, NY where I was looking for a book for the flight (which I’d normally never do because the airports mark up the prices so much!).  Anyway, I was glad I did, because when I saw this book, I had to have it!  I read the whole thing before I got home, then I read it again the next day.  I literally had a hard time on the plane not laughing aloud.  Seriously.  Mr. Newhart writes every bit as funny as he acts.  If you like him at all, you have got to read this.  You won’t be sorry.

Happy 85th Birthday, Bob Newhart!

20 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Bob Newhart!

  1. And responsible for two of the best comedy shows to ever air on TV. It’s still a toss up to me if the ending of “Newhart” or “St. Elsewhere” were the best finishes to a series. Though when you’re getting parodied on “Breaking Bad,” I gotta give “Newhart” the edge.

      • Ah Dick Van Dyke – his performance (especially so the worst British accent ever) in that awful (subjective I know) film Mary Poppins was so bad it was good! As to funny men from the States Woody Allen is top of my list – probably top of my world list thinking about it. He is, after all the most quoted living man on the planet.

      • LOL! Yeah, the Mary Poppins accent was bad. When I come to visit, I’ll have to do my best British accent and you can do your Bronx accent and we’ll hit the town. 😀 I like Woody Allen, too,

Leave a Reply

