The Games People Play

Well, I just know you’ve all been sitting around saying, “That Rachel has had so many exciting blog themes lately, she’s gotta break soon.”  And you may be right.  Then again, maybe not.  I guess it depends on if you and I like the same things.  My hint is this:  You’re either going to love it or hate it.  There probably won’t be any in between.

Since summer’s over and everybody’s gone back to school now, and people have a mindset of fun being a thing of the past as they prepare for winter, I thought I’d bring some interactive levity to my blog.  This month’s theme is games!  More precisely, it’s interactive games.  (And no, I don’t mean video games!  I want you to use your brain!)  Now, I’ll just warn you that at my house, we have an entire closet devoted to nothing but housing board games which we love to play.  Sometimes we have company, and they have a lot of fun with us, or sometimes they feel grossly intimidated before the evening is over.

Being Autistic, my mind never shuts off.  It also notices a lot of patterns in things.  So, often when I’m alone, I’ll see how many types of something or other I can think of.  I’ve also taken more than my share of road trips in my lifetime, so my kids, my sister, and I always make up car games that we play when we drive.

As you know, I love classic TV, and I also love old as well as current music.  So, a lot of my games involve those two things.  I hope that will entice you to want to participate.

So, as far as this month’s theme, I hope you’re, pardon the pun, game!  (If you absolutely hate games, don’t worry, I won’t ask you to play along on Throwback Thursdays this month, so you’ll only have Monday through Wednesday to worry about.)

Today’s game is to Identify Songs That Name a Method of Transportation.

The rules are as follows:

1. You have to include the song title.
2. You have to include the song artist.
3. You have to include the method of transportation.
4. You have to include the line in the song that references transportation.
5. You may NOT repeat any of my examples. (Preferably, please don’t repeat any examples from the comments above yours.)
6. You may NOT use the internet to reference anything. (Please play honestly.)
7. The song title does NOT have to feature the mode of transportation.
8. You may NOT include any Beach Boys songs about cars. (That would be like shooting fish in a barrel.)

First, I’ll provide some examples, then it’s your turn:

transportation songs

Alright, now it’s your turn.  I hope that each of you will rise to the occasion and play along with me.  I’ll look forward to reading your answers below…

So talk to me:  Do you love games or hate them?  Do you think you’ll be playing with me this month or abandoning me until October?  Are you looking forward to the spooky theme I have planned for next month?

48 thoughts on “The Games People Play

  1. I had the perfect song come to mind, but I have no idea who originally did it. So I’ll just use the version I do know. 😉
    The Wheels on the Bus – Veggietales – Bus – The wheels on the bus go round and round…
    Hot Air Balloon – Owl City – Hot Air Balloon – We yelled as we beheld, an old maroon hot air balloon…

  2. Hello!
    I love games! I am so excited that you are having a games month. I play games whenever I get the chance. I like board games or word games – what ever you have! 😀
    Ok, my turn:
    Title: Cars
    Artist: Gary Numan
    Method: Car
    Line: Here in my car I feel safest of all, I can lock all my doors.

    Lots of love from Miranda xxx

  3. Fairly obvious one for you, The Lettermen (at least I think they were the first, first I remember at any rate), “The Letter”, “Leaving on a fast plane, ain’t got time to take a fast train.” do I get extra points for two modes? Huh? Huh?

  4. Crap on a cracker! I LOVE games, but am TERRIBLE at remembering titles of songs and who sings them. The only thing that came to mind was Life Is A Highway, but they don’t actually mention the transportation method, only that they’re traveling. Hmm… Oh! Another one that’s of no use… God Bless the Broken Road. Also by Rascal Flatts, but only mentioning roads, no cars! URGH!!!
    I swear I’ll do better other days. I look forward to your month of games! I rarely find friends who like to play board/card games as much as I do around here. I’m excited!

  5. No one else will get this one, so I think I should get extra points…

    The Gigglebelly Train by the Gigglebellies, featuring a train…duh… the Gigglebelly train is a special train because he shares his love and joy with every girl and boy

    Yeah its one of Carys’s favourites, google it if you dont believe me, comes with quite a mesmerising video lol!

    Cant think of any grown up ones off the top of my head… that would most likely be because I dont get to listen to much grown up music around here…

  6. I do like playing games that’s for sure. You got stuff like Tracy Chapman with Fast Car “You got a fast car, is it fast enough you can fly away.” Combine harvester by the wurzels, “I got a brand new combine harvester and I’ll give you the key.”

  7. oooh!!! This reminds me of the Story Game we have. Basically, you roll a die and get a card… I think the available card types are Plot, Resolution, Setting, Character, Dialogue, Lesson, Opening Sentence… I can’t remember the last one. Anyway, we’d keep going until we had enough to make up a story. So then, we’d arrange them to create our plots. It normally leads to hilariously confusing tales, such as one that involved the Tenth Doctor, scuba gear, a time traveling pirate, and A Smell to Change My Feet. X-P
    For some reason, the moment I read “songs” my mind went blank and now all I can think about is “If Everyone Cared” and now I want to bawl because someone created a music video with Sherlock characters, and another very good one with Star Wars characters and I just wanted to cry and cry because ANAKIN BETRAYED EVERYONE and poor Obi-Wan… *sigh*
    I’m always like this after school… :-S

  8. Rachel, here are two, better late than never! This is great, making me laugh, wow!

    Title – “Love Shack”
    Artist – THE B-52’S
    Method – Car
    Lines –
    “I got me a car, it’s as big as a whale
    And we’re headin’ on down to the Love Shack
    I got me a Chrysler, it seats about 20
    So hurry up and bring your jukebox money”

    Title – “Pink Cadillac”
    Artist – Bruce Springsteen
    Method – Car
    Lines –
    “Riding in the back, oozing down the street
    Waving to the girls
    Feeling out of sight
    Spending all my money on a Saturday night
    Honey, I just wonder what you do there in back of your pink Cadillac
    Pink Cadillac”

Leave a Reply

