Who Nose What Will Happen in the Air?

Uncle Charlie & Me

I was going to Boston to meet my sister, Sarah, for the very first time.  I didn’t know Sarah was my sister until I was eleven years old.  She grew up on the West Coast, but went to Boston for college, and I was dying to meet her.  Uncle Charlie (who already knew her) offered to go with me, and I was grateful for his company.

Uncle Charlie is just the kind of guy that makes you laugh every time you see him.  He has a positive attitude that’s contagious, and he’s not afraid to be silly.  Anyway, as Charlie and I boarded the plane, we looked for our seats. Row 16, Seats A and B.

I don’t know if you’ve ever noticed before, but when you get on a plane, the seats do NOT go ABC-DEF. They go FED-CBA.  So if you’re standing at the back of the plane, you can read the seat numbers from left to right.  At any rate, if you didn’t already know that, don’t feel bad.  We didn’t know it either.

Uncle Charlie and I walked right to Row 16 and plopped down on the left side of the aisle.  We were happily discussing our trip and how I felt about meeting Sarah when all of a sudden a very Rude Lady scowled as she stood with her hands on her hips and said, “Excuse me!  Get up!  You’re in my seat!”

Uncle Charlie and I looked at each other then burst out laughing which only made the lady angrier.  “No, we’re not,” we replied, then we resumed talking.

She huffed loudly.  “Get out of my seat!”

Uncle Charlie and I got a little rambunctious and told her she needed to go to a remedial math class and learn how to count, and we said we’d thank her to stop being so rude.

Well, Mrs. Rudy McRudenheimer (which is what I call rude people) went away, and a few minutes later, she returned with a stewardess (or flight attendant or whatever they’re called these days) who asked to see our tickets.  Yup, sure enough, Uncle Charlie and I were on the wrong side of the aisle!

Bwaaahaahaaa!  It gets even better.

So, we moved to the other side of the aisle, and the lady who was seated there laughed hysterically at our situation and playfully told us that perhaps we needed to take a remedial alphabet class.  Her sense of humor was great, and we were happy to have her as our seat companion.  We started talking, and she was headed to Boston to see her son run in the Boston Marathon.  Mrs. Rudy McRudenheimer  kept scowling across the aisle at us because the three of us were laughing so much, and the plane hadn’t even taken off yet!

Finally, I reached into my bag and found my disguise nose glasses that Uncle Charlie and I were going to wear off the plane to surprise Sarah with.  (I brought an extra pair for her, but since I didn’t really know her very well, I wasn’t sure if she’d fully appreciate them or not, so I gave Sarah’s pair to the lady that was with us.)

Uncle Charlie & The Lady (See Mrs. Rudy McRudenheimer scowling in the back?)

We decide to make a “secret signal” for if we saw each other around Beantown that weekend, which was to pinch our nose and nod (in case we didn’t have our disguises on).  The three of us wore the disguise nose glasses for the entire flight.  (Yes, really!)  The stewardess started giving the speech about the available exits and spotted us while she was talking, then she started laughing so hard, she had to excuse herself.  The three of us sat there stone-faced as we watched.  A different stewardess came to finish the safety speech, saw us and started laughing as well.  By then, the whole plane turned to look and was roaring with laughter… all except Mrs. Rudy McRudenheimer across the aisle.  She shot us a nasty glare every time we looked over at her!

Three hours or so later, we arrived in Boston, and of course, all three of us still had on our nose glasses.  We took a photo on the plane, and as you can see, Mrs. Rudy McRudenheimer is still back there scowling (see above).  The stewardesses and pilot laughed hysterically as we exited, and nearly all of the people we encountered on our way down to the baggage claim laughed heartily as we proudly sported our nose glasses through Logan Airport.

Uncle Charlie, Me & The Lady walking around Logan Airport in our disguise nose glasses

Sarah never did get her nose, but I think the lady probably got a lot more use out of it than Sister Sarah ever would have.

Me and Sarah. I finally got to meet her. 🙂

So tell me:  Do you have any siblings you’ve never met?  Would you wear disguise nose glasses on a plane?  Would you demand that someone get out of your seat or ask them politely?  If you encountered someone wearing disguise nose glasses on a plane, would you laugh?  Do you have nicknames for people based on their behaviors?

43 thoughts on “Who Nose What Will Happen in the Air?

  1. That’s too funny. 🙂 And Mrs. Rudy really does look quite unhappy – alas, on planes there are lots of cranky people.

    I’ve never worn anything silly on a flight, but when I was in college I got a paper baker’s hat from Krispy Kreme and wore it on the whole drive back home…which included wearing it through several toll booths. Strangely enough, no one ever commented… :p

  2. I am afraid I would blurt out the names if gave them to people I know. However, I have been known to called people names when I am driving….such as nitwit, idiot, what were you thinking

    • LOL! Actually, when I give nicknames to other people (unbeknownst to them), the people I’m with usually end up accidentally calling them that, then I get embarrassed. Have a teriffic weekend! 😀

  3. Oh gosh, where to start. This reminds me of a time when my friends and I found a vending machine with plastic animal noses and donned them for the night, so I imagine that answers one of your questions. As for the nicknames, oh, stop me now…

  4. I think it’s sad that some people don’t know how to be polite–they almost assume every offense is done on purpose. I would have probably assume it was a seating mistake and show the people what is written on my flight ticket. Who knows, if it was a mistake I may be willing to switch seats with them if they prefer where they are sitting 🙂

  5. Love this story Rachel! I would politely tell someone if they were in my seat (which has happened) and point to the letters to explain it. I’ve met the most interesting people on planes, it’s one of the key reasons I love travelling alone!
    Diana xo

  6. Bahaha!!!! What a story! Yes, I would definitely wear those glasses, and proudly! And I would also laugh at anyone else wearing them. Isn’t the point of them to make people laugh?
    My name for rude people is SO close to yours, it’s scary: Rudy McRudington. I’m also a fan of Captain Obvious, Sally Sunshine (for super sweet people), Debbie Downer (for perpetually pessimistic people), and a whole bunch of others that I can’t think of right now.
    Hilarious story! Love the pics!

  7. I don’t have any siblings that I know of, but I have a sibling who isn’t talking to me right now. I wonder if a pair of nose glasses would help him lighten up. What do you think?

    • LOL! Well, when I told mine about it, she didn’t seem like she was missing much by not getting hers, so I don’t know. Tell your sibling to come talk to me and I’ll set him/her straight. (I’ve got 5 or 6 that aren’t talking to me as well as 2 birth parents. LOL!) Have a wonderful weekend! 😀

      • I’m sorry. But sometimes when people get that way, they cause a toxic relationship and it’s better not to be in it at the time anyway. At least that’s how I feel with mine.

      • I totally agree with you on that. My philosophy is to avoid toxicity but be read for reconciliation at some point if possible.

  8. Well, you three got the last long laugh at Mrs. Rudy. She sure could have gone about it with a bit more grace, I’d say. Some people are just wired that way.

    Sure, I would have worn the nose glasses with you, Rachel. I wouldn’t look that different with them on.

    Did your sister appreciate meeting you? Neither of you are smiling too widely in the picture. But she looks nice. Have you gotten closer, I hope?

    • LOL! When I make my NY road trip to ride that thing in your mall’s food court, I’ll bring enough glasses for everyone. 🙂

      No, we didn’t get closer. I’ve got 3 sisters and 2 brothers and 2 parents that don’t really speak to me. But it’s okay. Life’s too short to worry about problem people. I got over it a long time ago. 🙂

      Have a fantabulous weekend! 😀

  9. My nickname for negative people is Negative Nellie. When I was in Beauty College we each had a manequin head that we practiced on for cuts/styling/colors/perm wraps, etc. Well, I used to drive around with my manequin head in my back window. Freaked people out! lol!!

  10. What a funny story! I love that all three of you wore the noses for the entire trip–and that the flight attendants were laughing too hard to make their speeches.
    I always make up nicknames for people–one man in an exercise class many years ago became known to my friends and me as “Charleston Boy.” He loved that Charleston move on the step. Haha. I would never be rude to someone sitting in the wrong seat. I’d politely tell him/her, but I’d be perfectly happy to just switch seats if the person was all settled. There’s definitely no reason to be rude about it.

  11. Oh my goodness! That was such a fun story. It made my day. ^_^
    Also, wearing funny nose glasses on a plane sounds like something I’d do. Oooh, maybe next time I’m traveling with friends we’ll all walk onto our flight dressed up as fantasy characters! X-P

Leave a Reply

