Author Interview – Corey M. P.

A while back when I posted a Call to Writers, asking my fellow author bloggers to allow me to interview them, I was elated with the responses I received.  (And if you would like to participate, please feel free to contact me.)  I asked thirty-five questions and gave the interviewee the freedom to answer only what they wanted.  My friend and fellow-blogger, Corey M. P., had some very interesting responses which I’m sure you will find as fascinating as I did.  When you’re done reading the interview, please hop on over to Corey’s blog and make sure you follow her for more entertaining tales.  And now, I will hand the microphone over to Corey…

*.*.*

ABOUT YOU:

1. Please tell us your name (or pen name) and a little bit about yourself:

I’m Corey M. P. I’m a writer and a graphic designer from California. Aside from writing novels, I also write children’s books. I created Sammy’s Books in 2012. It’s a collection of beginner books for young children. My daughter, Sammy, is the inspiration behind it.

2. Please provide the link to your blog (and website, Facebook fan page, Twitter, etc.):

Website: coreymp.com

Children’s Books website: sammysbooks.com

Blog: coreymp.wordpress.com

Twitter: @CoreyMP1

Facebook: Corey MP

3. How many books have you written?

I’ve written one novel, and I’m currently in the process of editing my second novel. I’ve also written/created a few children’s books.

4. Has any of your work been published yet?  If so, please share the link(s) to purchase it:

Yes. My first novel, “HIGH”, is published and is available on Amazon.

My first children’s book, “Goodnight World”, is available on Amazon.

I also have five children’s books launching on May 29, 2014. For more information, visit sammysbooks.com.

5. If you have been published, did you self-publish or use traditional publishing?  Why? 

I self-published. I originally planned on getting an agent. In 2008, I sent out queries to a list of agents for my first novel, which was a novella at the time, and received a letter from an agent in L. A. who liked my story but said there was no market for novellas. I let my novel sit for a while after that. Almost a year later, I revisited my story and edited it. It was then I realized it was meant to become a novel. Then I attended a Writers Conference in 2011, where I quickly learned that self-publishing had changed a great deal. But it wasn’t until after I attended a Writers Workshop in Paris in 2012, that I finally decided to self-publish. Meeting other self-published writers who were quite successful gave me the push I needed to pursue self-publishing.

6. How old were you when you started writing?  When did you know you wanted to be an author?

I was fourteen when I started writing poetry. I knew I wanted to become a writer after I wrote my first poem. I was nineteen when I knew I wanted to write novels and someday become an author.

7. What would you say motivates you to keep writing?

What keeps me motivated is the thought that I must write, or else I’ll never know what happens to these ideas in my head. The curiosity to explore these characters, plots, and stories, and see where they could end up, definitely motivates me to keep writing. The thought that I will someday share these stories with others really inspires me to keep going.

8. Who are some of your favorite authors?  What are you currently reading (or what is the last book you read)?

Ernest Hemingway, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Marcel Proust, Oscar Wilde, and Paula McLain, to name a few.

I am currently reading, “The Lady with the Little Dog and Other Stories” by Anton Chekhov.

9. What is your preferred reading method?  (i.e., Kindle, Nook, paperback, hardback, etc.)  Why?

I somehow read quicker on my Kindle, but I still love reading paperbacks. There will always be something so fascinating about flipping and smelling the pages.

10. Do you write in first or third person, past or present tense, and why?

My first novel was written in the first person. My second novel is also written in the first person, but my third novel might be written in the third person. It all depends on what I feel is best for the story.

*.*.*

ABOUT YOUR CURRENT BOOK:

11. What is the title of your current work in progress of the most recent manuscript you’ve completed?

Current one is called, “Hearts and Errors”.

12. What is your novel’s genre?  Would you say there is a sub-genre? 

Fiction. The sub-genre would be contemporary fiction.

13. What is your target audience’s age, gender, etc.?

18-50 years old. I’d say probably about 60% women, 40% men.

14. Do you want to tell us a little bit about your story?

Sure. “Hearts and Errors” is about Ally Levine, a single New Yorker, whose life changes after she comes across an old article about a matchmaker in Paris, and decides to flee The Big Apple and venture off to The City of Light in search of something she may never find.

*.*.*

ABOUT HOW YOU WRITE:

15. How often do you write?

I write as often as I can. Whether it’s on a sheet of paper, or on the computer, I am always writing.

16. Approximately how many words do you write at each sitting?

I don’t really keep track, but if I were to guess, probably about 1,000 words or so.

17. Do you do your own editing or send it to someone else?

I edit my work until I feel satisfied, then I send it to a few beta readers, get their feedback, and edit it again. Then I send it out to an editor and edit it again based on the feedback I receive.

18. What is your method of writing?  (i.e., Do you write the entire manuscript, then go back and make changes?  Do you plan chapters as you go along or write the story then go back and add chapters?  Do you re-read as you go along or after you are done with the first draft?)

First, I write the entire manuscript, while editing as I go. Then I read the entire manuscript, edit, and rewrite, as needed. Repeat the process until it’s done.

19. How long does it take you to write a full manuscript?

For my second novel, I did a 100-day challenge. Meaning I challenged myself to write the entire first draft in 100 days. But for my first novel, I wrote whenever I could with no real deadline, so that experience was very different.

20. Do you have any “must haves” to help you write?  (i.e., a full cup of coffee, a view of the ocean, etc.)

No real must-haves. As long as I have a notebook and pen, or my laptop, I’m good to go. Music helps sometimes.

21. Do you only write during a certain time of day or in a certain location?  If so, do you make yourself stop after a certain time?

I write in the mornings, after I drop off my daughter to school, and at night, when everyone else is asleep.

*.*.*

ABOUT YOUR WORK:

22. If you have written more than one novel, which is your favorite and why?

It’s hard to pick one. I like them both for different reasons.

23. If you could be one of your own characters for a day, who would it be and why?

I’d say, Ally Levine, from my upcoming novel, “Hearts and Errors”. Why? Well, who wouldn’t want to be in her shoes for a day? She drops everything and flees to Paris in search of a matchmaker she read about in a magazine, only to discover something even more amazing. Sounds like a pretty exciting adventure to me.

Thank you so much for the interview, Rachel. I loved answering your questions. 🙂

*.*.*

Thank you, Corey, for allowing me to interview you.  I hope everyone else has enjoyed learning about you and your work as much as I have.

~Rachel

 

7 thoughts on “Author Interview – Corey M. P.

Leave a Reply

