Author Interview – L.E. Turner

A while back when I posted a Call to Writers, asking my fellow author bloggers to allow me to interview them, I was elated with the responses I received.  (And if you would like to participate, please feel free to contact me.)  I asked thirty-five questions and gave the interviewee the freedom to answer only what they wanted.  My friend and fellow-blogger, L.E. Turner, had some very interesting responses which I’m sure you will find as fascinating as I did.  When you’re done reading the interview, please hop on over to her blog and make sure you follow her for more entertaining tales.  And now, please allow me to pass the torch to L.E. Turner …

*.*.*

ABOUT YOU:

Please tell us your name (or pen name) and a little bit about yourself:

I write as L.E. Turner and I live in Bristol, UK the setting of my novel About the Nature of the Creature. I describe myself as a nerd, feminist, performer, blogger and slightly surreal writer of supernatural fiction.

On my website I list “Interesting Facts of Interest” about myself that you are welcome to check out – http://mybrainonapage.wordpress.com/about/

Please provide the link to your blog (and website, Facebook fan page, Twitter, etc.):

The website for my novel can be found at http://aboutthenatureofthecreature.com/ but I also have a blog where I post about lots of things that interest me and also some short stories – http://mybrainonapage.wordpress.com/ But you can also find me on facebook (https://www.facebook.com/pages/LE-Turner-author-of-About-the-Nature-of-the-Creature/155330601207274) and Twitter (https://twitter.com/robot_tiger)

What is your preferred reading method?  (i.e., Kindle, Nook, paperback, hardback, etc.)  Why?

Up until recently I mainly just read paperbacks, but I was have started to get in touch with a lot more self-published and independent authors I decided to purchase a Kindle as the best way to access their stories. So far this has been great on my back, as I normally carry at least two books and often some comic books in my bag everywhere I go, but now this has been reduced to one book, the kindle and maybe some comics.

Do you “always read” or do you take breaks between reading books? 

I read constantly – on the bus, on the train, on my lunch break, even whilst walking – a talent I have honed over many years – so far I have I have only caused one serious accident (I am of course joking). I tend to go through phases of reading one genre then switching to another. But sometimes I need to take a break between particularly strong books because I know the next book I read won’t get the justice it deserves. However, on these breaks I tend to read comics and graphic novels instead.

*.*.*

ABOUT YOUR CURRENT BOOK:

What is the title of your current work in progress of the most recent manuscript you’ve completed?

My most recent self-published novel is called About the Nature of the Creature (http://www.amazon.co.uk/About-Nature-Creature-L-Turner/dp/1456446339/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1319981835&sr=8-2), a dark urban fantasy with elements of Gothic horror, which turns the English city of Bristol into a home and haven of a variety of supernatural Creatures.

I am currently working on finishing the About the Nature of the Creature trilogy, and also have a couple of other urban fantasy and Dystopian projects I am currently researching and working on.

What is your novel’s genre?  Would you say there is a sub-genre?  What makes yours different than other books in the same genre?

About the Nature of the Creature is primarily a dark urban fantasy but also has strong elements of gothic horror. It is this combination that makes it different to a lot of other books in the urban fantasy genre – because although it is set in the modern day the gothic horror elements are set in flashbacks to over a century earlier.

The story itself is quite different to a lot of the popular urban fantasy novels on the market, firstly as it is set in the UK and with that is a little grittier – grey days all round! Secondly, it has a completely unique and unusual take on the vampire and werewolf mythos, that will be expanded to include other supernatural creatures in the sequel.

Do you want to tell us a little bit about your story?

The story focuses on protagonist Constance, a Creature who left Bristol in exile over a century earlier but has felt compelled to return. As the story unfolds flashbacks tell the story of how Constance came to be a creature and why she had previously left Bristol. On her return Connie finds her fellow creatures have abandoned the laws that governed them and has to take responsibility for the part she may have played in that in her past. It’s not long before more dangerous elements of her past start to resurface, including a threat to her kind from a secret sect of the Church. Connie finds herself questioning everything she thought she knew about her life and her very existence.

*.*.*

ABOUT HOW YOU WRITE:

How do you come up with your character names and geographic location / business names?

For About the Nature of the Creature the dwelling place of the creatures was always “Purgatory”. It just popped into my head and immediately fit – somewhere between the human world and the beyond. The location took a bit more consideration because when I first started writing the story I set it in London in order to make it more accessible to non UK readers. But as I continued to write I knew I had to change it to Bristol, a city I know well and fit the story much better. In fact this change opened up a lot more interesting possibilities, both for the first book and the sequels.

I am fascinated with names so enjoyed researching for this novel the kind of names that were popular at different periods of history. Weirdly I also like finding inspiration for names from grave stones in cemeteries – some names can be beautiful and lyrical, but wouldn’t be immediately obvious to a modern reader.

Does your real life ever neglected because of your writing?  If so, how do you feel about that?

I have written stories since childhood, it’s always been that has been part of my life so for many years I didn’t even think of having a routine because it was something I just did naturally. When I left university I realised I needed to make a routine if I was ever going to finish what I was working on at the time – About the Nature of the Creature. And that was the case for a while until life got in the way.

For a long time performing and producing, took over a lot of time in my life to the point where I realised my writing was dwindling to an end and the only thing I was writing was posts of a performance based website. I recently made some massive changes in my life by retiring from performing and producing in order to dedicate more time to writing. I had to make this change for my sanity because I need to write in order to stay sane. I am now developing a balance that will allow me to finish my next book in hopefully less than the ten years it took me to finish the first.

*.*.*

ABOUT YOUR WORK:

If you could be one of your own characters for a day, who would it be and why?

I think I’d like to be Father Roan McInerney from About the Nature of the Creature, a priest who becomes mixed up in the events that unfold when Constance returns to Bristol. It would be interesting to see those events through his eyes and with his mindset. Also, I know what’s in store for him in the next two volumes so if that day were to be in two books time, I know he’d be an even more interesting character to look back on everything that happens from the moment he learns about creatures. As soon as he meets Connie his life changes forever.

What is the oddest thing you have ever researched for one of your books?

For About the Nature of the Creature I had to research a lot about diseases. Although it isn’t something that is detailed greatly in the book, I wanted to have it clear in my mind what makes the creatures who they are. This included quite a lot of really disturbing images.

I also spent a lot of time researching some really obscure ancient deities, some of whom are very odd in themselves. But very interesting to research and hopefully interesting for the readers to discover as the story unfolds at the end of the first story and will continue into the second.

*.*.*

Thank you, L.E., for allowing me to interview you.  I hope everyone else has enjoyed learning about you and your work as much as I have.

~Rachel

 

19 thoughts on “Author Interview – L.E. Turner

    • I really do find it a great way to find names, my favourite ever was one from a grave stone in Welford Road Cemetery in Leicester – Sarah Snow. I just find something really beautiful about it, but am yet to use it 🙂

      • I know what you mean! We were driving past a graveyard and I was just looking at the last names flashing past, and I saw one that said “Hensley” which ended up being the perfect last name for a character. 😀

  1. Pingback: Flashback Friday: About the Nature of the Creature | crea•ture/ˈkrēCHər/Noun - An animal, as distinct from a human being

Leave a Reply

