The Thing About Limericks

Well, friends, we’re closing in on the end of National Poetry Month, and frankly, I’m at a loss. I think I generally average about one poem a year, and even then, those are ones that come to me and not ones I set out to write on purpose. This writing poetry on demand is hard!  I honestly don’t know if I can think of one more poem’s subject matter. So, for lack of anything better, today’s verse is about limericks and how they are structured.

limerick writing

A Limerick About Limericks
By: Rachel Carrera

Writing a limerick’s not hard,
Even if you’re caught off guard;
The fourth line and the third
Use the same sounding word;
You don’t even have to be a bard.

Writing a limerick is easy;
The notion should not make you queasy;
The fifth, second, and first
Lines rhyme so they are versed,
But sometimes their subjects are sleazy.

36 thoughts on “The Thing About Limericks

  1. Don’t be quite so hard on yourself. You’re DOING it, and there’s nothing more important than that! When you think you can’t come up with another, you DO. Celebrate! 🙂

  2. A writer named Rachel went poet:

    ‘My daily work is just awful, I know it.’

    But she doth protest too much.

    I read all, such and such.

    And I think that talent: She should grow it.

    • LOL! Not exactly, but I’m glad April’s almost over. I think the one I really do feel proud of is the one I posted on April 1st. The rest just felt like homework. But I am glad I stuck it out and didn’t quit. 🙂 Thank you! 😀

  3. There once was a man from a far
    he got there in his car
    the petrol was low the car didn’t go
    so he walked till he said har har

    Always love a good limerick at least this one wasn’t rude 😀

  4. Hi there, my name is Alyssa. We’ve been following each other on WordPress for a while now, and I was wondering if you’d be interested in doing some kind of book swap for promo.

    I recently made the move into self-publishing, and I know that you’re a writer as well, and if you’re interested, I thought we could swap copies. I’d read a book of yours (or just your blog in general) and write a blog post promoting it in the following week, while you read a book of mine and (if you enjoy it of course) promote it on your own blog. I think it’d be a great way for both of us to reach new audiences, and my story, The Motel Room, is a nice one session read at 27 pages.

    Feel free to say no, and good luck with all your writing endeavors! =)

Leave a Reply

