You Can Go Anywhere with a Book

I can’t believe I’ve made it past the hump of National Poetry Month and managed to still meet my goal of writing a poem each day.  It’s really starting to wear on me, and it gives me a lot more appreciation for those poets who choose to write poetry regularly or even for a living.

For today’s poem, as I was looking for an idea, I got to thinking how much better I like reading and writing books than poetry.  So, with that in mind, I decided to make my poem about books.  It was a lot better idea in theory than in reality.  I compiled a list of nearly one hundred classic books, and yet getting any of the author names or titles to even somewhat rhyme was harder than I ever imagined.

I’m afraid my sad attempt sounds more like something from Dr. Seuss’ reject pile than what I had envisioned, but at any rate, it has at least fulfilled my goal for one more day of poetry.  If nothing else, I hope it makes you laugh a little.  Enjoy the rest of your week!

classics

“Escape With the Classics”
By: Rachel Carrera

Whether you prefer to read
On your Kindles or Nooks,
You can have wondrous adventures
If you’d only read books.

You can travel through time
Across the oceans and sands;
Don’t forget your passport
As you explore the world’s lands.

With Jules Verne, you’ll explore
Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea;
Or learn how To Kill a Mockingbird
With Harper Lee.

You can get on a ship
And sail with Robinson Crusoe,
If you open the book
By Daniel Defoe.

You can be one of the Little Women
With Louisa May Alcott;
Or be as grand as The Great Gatsby
With Fitzgerald, F. Scott.

You can enjoy The Good Earth
With Pearl S. Buck;
Or travel the river with Mark Twain
Along with Tom Sawyer and Huck.

With Alexandre Dumas, you can be
The Count of Monte Cristo;
Or you can stay in Uncle Tom’s Cabin
With Harriet Beecher Stowe.

You can sail the oceans with Herman Melville
And meet a whale named Moby Dick;
Or you can live through the Great Depression
In The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck.

You could swim with Ernest Hemingway
And The Old Man and the Sea;
Or you could go with Charles Dickens
To A Tale of Two Cities.

You could befriend a kind spider
In Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White;
Or you could go with Emily Bronte
To the wondrous Wuthering Heights.

And if you choose to travel
With Nathaniel Hawthorne,
The Scarlet Letter will show you
A town filled with scorn.

In Nineteen Eighty-Four
You can learn all about Big Brother;
Its author, George Orwell,
Tells the story like no other.

You can investigate Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde
By Robert Louis Stevenson;
Or you can fight in the French and Indian War
With James Cooper and the Last of the Mohicans.

You can meet Lenny in Of Mice and Men
If you read the book by John Steinbeck;
Or Frank Baum can take you to the Wizard of Oz
By following a road made of yellow brick.

Frances Hodgson Burnett will tell you how Cedrick,
Known as Little Lord Fauntleroy, was offered a palace;
But Lewis Carroll can show you Wonderland
If you jump in the rabbit hole with Alice.

To travel with a story,
You can see the world’s nations.
You don’t even have to
Go through a train station.

So go get a novel;
I shouldn’t have to use bribery
To convince you – It’s free!
Just go to your local library!

34 thoughts on “You Can Go Anywhere with a Book

  1. Oh, this is quite wonderful, Rachel, a light-hearted romp through the books of your life. And I’ll let you use that as a blurb on your poetry book promo someday, gratis!

  2. Exactly that is what I am in the middle of myself. Escaping through the written word. Thank you for the great post. You are a really great writer with a really great perspective. Thanks again.

  3. I love, love, LOVE this! This is absolutely charming. You have a knack for light-hearted rhymes. I would have had a nervous breakdown attempting such a monumental task, but you pulled if off wonderfully! No joke. You have quite a knack for poetry. I’ve really enjoyed reading yours this month, and I KNOW you can keep it up. You should incorporate these into a book! 🙂

Leave a Reply

