I Scream, You Scream…

Well, we can’t celebrate National Poetry Month without at least one good limerick. (And while this one might not actually qualify as good, it is at least in correct limerick form.)

chocolate

The Craving
By: Rachel Carrera

I like to eat chocolate ice cream.
With caramel, it tastes like a dream.
With marshmallows, it’s topped,
And pecans that are chopped,
I get so excited, I scream!

(As as aside, this post’s odd title comes from a rhyme my grandma used to say: “I scream, you scream, we all scream for ice cream.”  When I was a kid, other kids my age hadn’t heard that before, so I always guessed it was something from the “way-back.”)
*.*.*
UPDATE: Since I scheduled this post, I got curious about the title, so I Googled it. No wonder other kids my age didn’t know what it was… It was apparently a popular novelty song… in 1927!

38 thoughts on “I Scream, You Scream…

    • My birth mom is 63, but her parents who raised me were in their mid thirties when they had her, so I had a lot of the Depression Era stuff growing up and less of the culture like my friends who had former hippies for parents. 🙂

  1. My grandma used to say the same thing. And yum, I love ice cream too, pretty much any kind. Did you ever see “Thank you for smoking?” In it, the protagonist gives an interesting argument for vanilla over chocolate – it’s pretty funny. 🙂

    • LOL! No, I haven’t, but I’ll have to check it out now. (But the funny thing is, chocolate is not really my favorite…Peanut butter is, but that was harder to make rhyme.) 😉

  2. I also am familiar with this phrase–I actually thought it was a common phrase/song everyone knew–guess I learned something new–another good post!

  3. Awesome! We used to sing that all the time when we were kids, too. Since I was born long after 1927, I must have heard it from my parents/grandparents. 🙂

Leave a Reply

