A Love Story and a Cat

Well, I managed to add yet another poem to this month’s poetry celebration.  But just to warn you — this one is as SILLY as ever.  (And it’s bad, but it still might get a chuckle at its goofiness if nothing else.)  I don’t know how long I can keep it up, but we shall see…

marmelade cat

Marmalade Eyes
By: Rachel Carrera

There was a black cat
Who had marmalade eyes.
He belonged to a girl
Who was small for her size.

There was also a boy
Who had muscular thighs,
And a crush on the girl
Who was pretty and wise.

And the boy thought the girl
Was most surely a prize,
The girl with the cat
With the marmalade eyes.

So the boy bought a diamond
To give as a surprise
To the girl that he loved
Who was small for her size.

He said, “Marry me now,
Because you hypnotize
Me; I love you, it’s you
That I idolize.”

In appreciation
For the special surprise,
The girl baked the boy
Nineteen marshmallow pies.

She said, “I’ll marry you,
For I do fantasize
Of us living with doves
And with red butterflies.”

As the two of them stood
Underneath the blue skies
“I do,” said the boy
With the muscular thighs

As he married the girl
Who was small for her size,
And who owned the black cat
With the marmalade eyes.

39 thoughts on “A Love Story and a Cat

Leave a Reply

