Throwback Thursday from the Vault

Today’s Throwback Thursday features another one of my childhood masterpieces straight from the vault. Even though St. Patrick’s Day isn’t until Monday, I wanted to share it as a throwback today.

This one’s especially funny because it’s so stupid. I wrote this when I was in the first grade, so I would’ve been six at the time. I remember I was preoccupied with learning to write in cursive, even though we’d not yet learned it in school. Hence, you can see that I managed to at least sign my name in cursive. (How funny that I was so obsessed, and now they don’t even teach cursive in school anymore.)

The thing that’s especially humorous (and embarrassing) to me about this poem is that I swear my first grade teacher told us a story (or maybe read us a book) about “Carl’s Leprechaun.” It must have made a big impact on me to go home and write about it. Yet, when I found this recently, I Googled it and can find no such story!

The other comical element, besides my bad spelling, is that I had to write in the margin that it was indeed a poem. Obviously my reasoning was so that no one could confuse it for a novel or other fictitious prose narrative.

The Jolly Old Elf

In case you can’t decipher my masterpiece, it reads as follows:

The Jolly Old Elf

There was an elf.
Hee hee hee.
I can’t believe what I see.
I said, “Hi there.”
He said, “Zee zee zee.”
Now it’s the end because
He was Carl’s Leprechaun.

(By the way, if YOU know who or what Carl’s Leprechaun is, would you please tell me?)

11 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday from the Vault

  1. That’s so cute Rachel. Both the poem and the pic. You cutie.
    They don’t teach cursive in school where you live anymore? I sure wish they didn’t teach it here in Brazil. It would certainly make my life a lot easier with my 7 year old. It’s hard enough just to get him to print.
    =)

    • Thank you so much! Yes, I just heard about the no cursive rule recently, actually, but when I said something on my Facebook, a few people told me it had been that way for a couple of years now. Apparently, they only teach kids how to sign their own name, but figure they need typing skills more than writing skills.

  2. Great stuff. @ragtaggiggagon here from Twitter, Rachel. I’m Irish (Dublin) and I have never heard of any such Carl’s leprechaun! Terrific stuff though. It’s wonderful what we have going on in our heads as children. “Zee zee zee!” Very Seussy!

    • Hi, Richard, LOL! That’s so funny! I just swear my teacher told us about old Carl. And “Carl” is definitely not one of the names I would have chosen as a kid. (I usually went for my favorite TV characters’ names.) I have NO CLUE where I pulled that from if there wasn’t a story. Yes, as for the “Zee, zee, zee” part, what can I say? I was a weirdo! LOL! 😀 Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

