Ode to Theodor Geisel and Jon Bon Jovi

If you read my blog, you probably already know that I don’t normally blog on the weekends.  So this will have to be a “Special Sunday Edition.”  Today is a special day, so I wanted to honor it appropriately.  As such, I submit for your approval, my sad attempt at poetry…

Ode to Theodor Geisel and Jon Bon Jovi
By: Rachel A. Carrera

dr. seuss (1)One fish, two fish, red fish, blue fish,
I don’t know if I can do this…
Yesterday was March one; today is March two;
And this is the day for you-know-who.
If you don’t know,
I’ll tell you so.
Today’s the day to celebrate;
It’s someone’s birthday; ain’t it great?
The birthday cake is good to go;
Just light all the candles, then blow, blow, blow!
didn’t bother to get him a card,
But I’m writing like him (and it’s really hard!).
Whether you drive a spaceship or ride a caboose,
Give a big shout out for Dr. Seuss!
And lest I forget who else in who’s who,
It’s Jon Bon Jovi’s birthday today, too!
So raise your glasses and cheer these men on;
One poet’s a book writer; the other writes song.
Thanks for letting me bend your ear,
But as for my poem, it ends right here.

*.*.*

And now, please feel free to return to your regularly scheduled blog posts…

10 thoughts on “Ode to Theodor Geisel and Jon Bon Jovi

  1. Pingback: Whats a Few Misplaced Apostrophe’s Among Friend’s? | Rachel Carrera, Novelist

Leave a Reply

